Patric Niederhauser and Arden Victorious in Hungary

Patric Niederhauser took his first GP3 Series victory since 2012 by winning race two at the Hungaroring. He made a good start from third on the grid to lead into the first corner and was never seriously challenged thereafter.

The Arden Motorsport driver jumped ahead of front row starts Dino Zamparelli and Jann Mardenborough into the first corner, and won by 1.504s after controlling the pace ahead of ART Grand Prix driver Zamparelli, who was obviously disappointed after the race to be runner-up for the second weekend in a row.

The second Arden International machine of Mardenborough held off the strong challenge of championship leader Alex Lynn of Carlin to take third, while the third Arden of Robert Visoiu was also in the battle for the podium throughout the race but ultimately ended fifth.

Race one winner Richie Stanaway took sixth for Status Grand Prix, while Emil Bernstorff of Carlin overtook the Marussia Manor Racing machine of Dean Stoneman for seventh a couple of laps from the end of the seventeen lap race after a race long battle.

It was a bad race for three of the top six in the championship heading into the weekend, with Marvin Kirchhofer (ART Grand Prix), Nick Yelloly (Status Grand Prix) and Jimmy Eriksson of Koiranen GP all failing to score points on Sunday.

Hungaroring Race 2 Result

1 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 27m31.893s
2 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +1.504s
3 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International +7.440s
4 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin +8.154s
5 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +10.364s
6 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +16.174s
7 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin +19.246s
8 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +22.681s
9 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix +22.872s
10 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +23.576s
11 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +24.172s
12 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing +25.698s
13 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +26.022s
14 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +26.498s
15 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +27.468s
16 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +30.125s
17 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport +30.422s
18 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +30.513s
19 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport +32.967s
20 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +33.501s
21 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +33.911s
22 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix +35.422s
23 Christopher Hoher AUT Jenzer Motorsport +35.953s
24 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Trident Racing +44.764s
25 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP +55.061s
RET Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 2 Laps