Stanaway Quickest in GP3 Practice in Germany

The most recent GP3 Series race winner Richie Stanaway was fastest in practice at a sweltering Hockenheim circuit ahead of this weekend’s races in Germany. The Status Grand Prix driver, who won race two at Silverstone two weeks ago, set a best time of 1:29.473s to beat Marvin Kirchhofer of ART Grand Prix by 0.205s.

British drivers Nick Yelloly and Dino Zamparelli were third and fourth in a good session for both Status Grand Prix and ART Grand Prix. Finn Patrick Kujala was fifth for Marussia Manor Racing ahead of another Briton Emil Bernstorff in the leading Carlin machine despite a trip through the gravel trap early in the session.

Swiss driver Patric Niederhauser was the only Arden International driver to show any sort of pace by placing seventh, just ahead of current championship leader Alex Lynn, who made mistakes on two quick laps that ultimately saw the Carlin driver end the 45-minute session eighth.

South African Roman de Beer was ninth for Trident Racing, ahead of Riccardo Agostini of Hilmer Motorsport in tenth, but the Italian was forced to pull over to the side of the track late in the session.

Lynn’s main Championship rival Jimmy Eriksson had a shocking session as all three Koiranen GP entries finished outside the top twenty. The Swede, who already has a five-place grid penalty for causing a collision at Silverstone, was the best of the three in twenty-second, with Santiago Urrutia twenty-sixth and Carmen Jorda flirting with the 107% rule in twenty-seventh.

Adderly Fong walked away unhurt after a session ending trip into the turn one barriers. The Chinese driver ran wide and as a result had a 360-degree spin that saw him damage his Jenzer Motorsport car against the barrier.

Hockenheim Free Practice Result

1 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:29.473
2 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:29.678
3 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:29.729
4 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:29.740
5 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:29.792
6 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:29.814
7 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:30.085
8 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:30.093
9 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:30.241
10 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 1:30.295
11 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:30.352
12 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:30.459
13 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Trident Racing 1:30.475
14 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:30.543
15 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:30.609
16 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:30.621
17 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:30.627
18 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:30.706
19 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:30.727
20 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:30.768
21 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:30.770
22 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:30.979
23 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:31.166
24 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.792
25 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing 1:31.813
26 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:32.401
27 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:35.289