Super Vandoorne Dominates Hungary Sprint

Stoffel Vandoorne took his first win since the opening race of the season by controlling the GP2 Series Sprint race at the Hungaroring. The Belgian took the lead at the start, and the ART Grand Prix driver was never seriously challenged to move up into third place in the championship.

Championship rivals Jolyon Palmer and Felipe Nasr had an exciting and close battle for the other two podium positions, with the DAMS driver taking the honours by under a second from the Carlin driver. Both drivers were reluctant to give the other an inch on track, and the decisive overtaking manoeuvre was looked at by the stewards but was deemed to be clean, but fierce racing.

Pole sitter Nathanael Berthon had his best finish of the season in fourth for Venezuela GP Lazarus after losing out to the top three in the opening laps. The Frenchman, recently confirmed as part of the Caterham F1 Development Programme, held off the concerted challenge of German Daniel Abt, who had also had one of his best races of the year for Hilmer Motorsport in fifth.

Feature race winner Arthur Pic had a quiet race but picked up more points for Campos Racing in sixth, ahead of Conor Daly, who took his first points finish of the season for Venezuela GP Lazarus in seventh.

The final point of the day went to Rapax driver Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, who was embroiled in a big battle with the EQ8 Caterham Racing machine of Frenchman Tom Dillmann that came to a head on the final lap when Dillmann attempted to overtake Quaife-Hobbs at the turn six chicane but clipped the kerb and spun into retirement.

Raffaele Marciello finished ninth after starting nineteenth due to a penalty from the Feature race, making a number of impressive overtaking manoeuvres in his Racing Engineering machine, while the top ten was rounded out by Mitch Evans, who left the Hungaroring having failed to score a point all weekend for Russian Time.

Hungaroring Sprint Race Result

1 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 43m54.536s
2 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +3.328s
3 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin +4.254s
4 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +17.211s
5 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +17.780s
6 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +25.326s
7 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +26.815s
8 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +31.740s
9 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +34.706s
10 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +38.981s
11 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport +40.368s
12 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +45.157s
13 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +52.509s
14 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +55.027s
15 Julian Leal COL Carlin +55.271s
16 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport +57.709s
17 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +57.896s
18 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +1m10.141s
19/RET Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing +1 Lap
20/RET Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time +1 Lap
21/RET Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +1 Lap
RET Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 24 Laps
RET Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 24 Laps
RET Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 16 Laps
RET Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 3 Laps
DNS Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 0 Laps