Vandoorne Leads the way in Hungary Practice

by Paul Hensby

Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne was fastest for ART Grand Prix in the sole free practice ahead of this weekend’s GP2 Series races at the Hungaroring in Hungary.

The McLaren F1 reserve driver set a best lap time of 1:29.479s to pip Williams F1 reserve driver Felipe Nasr of Carlin by just 0.061s. Stephane Richelmi was the leading DAMS driver in third, just ahead of his team-mate and current championship leader Jolyon Palmer.

The top six in practice have all won races in 2014, with Silverstone and Hockenheim Feature race winner Mitch Evans fifth for Russian Time ahead of Johnny Cecotto Jr of Trident Racing, who won the Feature race at Barcelona and the Sprint race at the Red Bull Ring.

Unfortunately for Cecotto, the Venezuelan driver will lose three places on the grid for the Feature race after being deemed responsible for a reckless collision with a slow moving Palmer during the session.

Kimiya Sato had his best session of the season so far to place seventh for Campos Racing, having missed last weekend’s round in Germany to focus on his championship challenge in the Auto GP World Series.

The Rapax duo of Adrian Quaife-Hobbs and Simon Trummer were eighth and ninth, ahead of Daniel de Jong of MP Motorsport in tenth.

Stefano Coletti and Raffaele Marciello of Racing Engineering appeared to struggle in the session, and ended up being classified in nineteenth and twentieth positions.

Qualifying takes place later this afternoon, ahead of the opening race of the weekend Saturday afternoon after the completion of Formula 1 qualifying.

Hungaroring Practice Times

1 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:29.479
2 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:29.540
3 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:29.838
4 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:29.877
5 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:29.950
6 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:29.989
7 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:30.039
8 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:30.046
9 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:30.098
10 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:30.164
11 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:30.244
12 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:30.254
13 Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:30.282
14 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:30.404
15 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:30.415
16 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:30.438
17 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:30.453
18 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:30.507
19 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:30.512
20 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:30.691
21 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:30.718
22 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:30.807
23 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:31.005
24 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:31.178
25 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:31.182
26 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:31.195


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More