Zamparelli Leads ART Grand Prix 1-2-3 in Hungary Practice

Dino Zamparelli topped the GP3 Series free practice in Hungary but ended his session stopped at the side of the road that ultimately saw the session finish a few minutes prematurely under a red flag.

The Briton led team-mates Alex Fontana and Marvin Kirchhofer in an ART Grand Prix 1-2-3 in the session, with Emil Bernstorff of the best of the rest in fourth for Carlin.

Patric Niederhauser was fifth for Arden International, ahead of fellow Swiss driver Matheo Tuscher of Jenzer Motorsport, while the latest race winner in the series last weekend in Germany, Jann Mardenborough was seventh for Arden.

Roman de Beer was eighth and Mitchell Gilbert tenth for Trident Racing, who are only fielding two cars this weekend with Brazilian Victor Carbone absent. They sandwiched the third Arden International machine of Romanian Robert Visoiu.

Three of the top five in the championship were all towards the back of the field, but all showed pace throughout the session that should mean they qualify closer to the front on Saturday morning. Richie Stanaway of Status Grand Prix, Jimmy Eriksson of Koiranen GP and Alex Lynn of Carlin were eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth respectively.

There has been one driver change this weekend, with Austrian Christopher Hoher taking the place of Adderly Fong at Jenzer Motorsport.

Hungaroring Practice Times

1 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:33.901
2 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:34.246
3 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:34.306
4 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:34.397
5 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:34.401
6 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:34.424
7 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:34.515
8 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:34.682
9 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:34.790
10 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Trident Racing 1:34.902
11 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:34.939
12 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:35.021
13 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:35.034
14 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:35.078
15 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.098
16 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 1:35.170
17 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:35.275
18 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:35.584
19 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:35.668
20 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:35.816
21 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:35.957
22 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:36.121
23 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:36.214
24 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:36.343
25 Christopher Hoher AUT Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.440
26 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:40.394