BRDC F4 Returns To Silverstone To Start Second Half Of Season

by Nick Smith

The BRDC Formula 4 Championship will return to action this weekend at Silverstone with George Russell in control of the points table and a new driver on the grid.

The championship, which started at the Northamptonshire circuit in April, has so far seen six different winners from three teams.

The now established runners are joined for the series’ return to the home of the British Grand Prix by Spanish Euroformula Open racer Alex Palou. The 17 year old, who holds second place in the F3 based championship, will race with Sean Walkinshaw Racing when he makes his BRDC F4 debut.

With two Euroformula Open wins and a further six podiums under his belt, Palou is expected to hit the ground running at the leading edge of the pack.

Team owner at SWR, Sean Walkinshaw commented: “We are looking forward to getting Alex into the car at Silverstone, his result in Euroformula Open speak for themselves and we hope he can carry that form over into a new category.”

Palou added: “I am very happy to be driving for Sean and I will work as hard as possible to give the team the results they deserve. I have heard a lot of good things about the championship and the level of competition will be very high. I am really looking forward to making my BRDC F4 debut.”

Strangely for drivers at this level, the team has agreed the deal without a single test session. Palou’s first experience of the MSV F4-013 will come in the pre-race test on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit this coming Friday.

The title fight has Russell in a strong position following a good weekend at Oulton Park last time out with Raoul Hyman, 2014’s first F4 winner giving chase. Other title candidates include Will Palmer and Arjun Maini who have each accrued two wins and Sennan Fielding.

The title battle is completely locked out by two teams, with HHC Motorsport running Fielding, Raoul Hyman and Palmer while Lanan Racing offer cars to Russell, Maini and Struan Moore who holds sixth in the title table.

Statistically speaking though, Chris Middlehurst for MGR Motorsport, Diego Menchaca for Douglas Motorsport and Gustavo Lima, the sole Hillspeed runner, all have a shot at the title from seventh, eighth and ninth respectively.

All nine will be targeting wins at Silverstone, with the triple-header weekend providing plenty of opportunities for success.

Qualifying at Silverstone is due to start at 10.35am on Saturday (16 August), with the first race underway at 14.35. Races two and three will follow on Sunday at 10.20 and 15.05 respectively.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More