BRDC Formula 4

Fielding Flies to Dramatic Second Victory

2 Mins read

Sennan Fielding has taken his second victory from the BRDC Formula 4 Championship‘s second visit to Silverstone in 2014. As with his Saturday victory, the HHC Motorsport run driver had to work for his spoils, fighting off a determined Gaetano di Mauro from Petroball Racing. The equation was further complicated by a rain shower an hour before the race which left a slight drying line and a mix of wet and slick Yokohama tyres on the grid.

First to lead the race was Hillspeed’s Rahul Raj Mayer, who relinquished the lead to Raoul Hyman from HHC and Lanan Racing’s George Russell in turn. All three had started on wets but would regret the decision, slicks were clearly the way to go, as indicated by Fielding’s rocket through the field from eighth on the grid. Sennan was in a podium spot by lap three but di Mauro was even more impressive, having caught the black and gold F4-013 from eleventh on the grid.

Come the final lap there was no attention to spare for anything but the duel for the lead. Never parted by more than a second on the final lap, the two slick shod machines dueled, granting di Mauro the lead on the Hangar Straight. Fielding launched a counter at Stowe to retake the lead only for a Gaetano reposte at Club to put the Petroball machine back ahead and in position for the team’s best ever finish, at the home race for the Milton Keynes based outfit.

An over-exuberant defense at Village left the Brazilian open to attack down the Wellington Straight with the move for the lead completed under braking for Brooklands. With just two corners left there was no time for a fresh offensive from the Petroball racer and Fielding crossed the line 0.157 seconds ahead.

Sennan Fielding was joined on the podium by HHC Motorsport team mate Will Palmer who recovered from an electrical problem in race one and a twentieth place start in race two to take silverware home.

Rodrigo Fonseca for Douglas Motorsport grabbed his career best finish was a strong drive from 15th on the grid to fourth on the road, finishing ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing’s Tom Jackson who started from the pit lane. George Russell held out for sixth as the first of the wet shod racers from Raoul Hyman, Arjun Maini in the second Lanan machine and Rahul Raj Mayer. Diego Borrelli rounded out the top ten for Sean Walkinshaw Racing.

It wasn’t the cleanest race of them all however with three drivers incurring the wrath of the stewards. Alfredo Zabalza’s Hillspeed machine will start in 19th place for the final race after he collided with his team mate Gustavo Lima at Stowe corner. Diego Menchaca for Douglas and Chris Middlehurst for MGR Motorsport have both been excluded from the result of the race. Both drivers were judged to have overtaken under double waved yellows with marshals on the track. They finished in fifteenth and twelfth respectively but now lose their results.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply