GP2 Series

Leal leads Cecotto in Spa Practice

1 Mins read

Carlin driver Julian Leal was fastest in the sole free practice session ahead of this weekend’s GP2 Series round at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Colombian driver, team-mate to championship contender Felipe Nasr, beat Venezuelan Johnny Cecotto Jr of Trident Racing by 0.153s.

The session was interrupted by a red flag late in the session when Racing Engineering’s Monegasque driver Stefano Coletti spun while trying to improve on his best time. He ended the session down in eighth.

Coletti’s Italian team-mate Raffaele Marciello ended the session third fastest, ahead of Venezuela GP Lazarus duo of Frenchman Nathanael Berthon and American Conor Daly.

Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne was sixth fastest for ART Grand Prix in front of his home fans, ahead of the second Trident Racing driver of Spaniard Sergio Canamasas. Behind Coletti were the leading DAMS machine of Stephane Richelmi, and the Russian Time machine of Mitch Evans.

Championship contenders Jolyon Palmer and Nasr were outshone by their team-mates in the session, with Palmer twelfth for DAMS and Nasr fourteenth for Carlin. The top sixteen were covered by less than a second, while everyone set a time within 1.7 seconds of the fastest time.

Spa-Francorchamps Free Practice Times

1 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:57.877
2 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:58.030
3 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:58.265
4 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:58.291
5 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:58.302
6 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:58.339
7 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:58.370
8 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:58.374
9 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:58.399
10 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:58.439
11 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:58.454
12 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:58.462
13 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:58.487
14 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:58.658
15 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:58.787
16 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:58.800
17 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:58.889
18 Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:58.923
19 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:58.943
20 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:59.020
21 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:59.167
22 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:59.179
23 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:59.311
24 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:59.463
25 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:59.531
26 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:59.564
12488 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.