Lynn holds off Stanaway for Race 2 Spa Win

Red Bull backed Alex Lynn took his third victory of the season to extend his GP3 Series championship lead over Richie Stanaway. The Briton had to hold off the challenge of the Kiwi driver at a damp Spa-Francorchamps to take the win, his first since the opening race in Austria in June.

It was not a straightforward win for Lynn, who started on pole position having finished eighth in race one on Saturday. The Carlin driver made a couple of mistakes and lost the lead briefly to Stanaway but was able to reclaim the lead at the following corner, with the Status Grand Prix driver unable to make the most of the mistakes.

Alex Fontana had a lonely race to third for ART Grand Prix to take his first podium finish of a disappointing season up to now. Jann Mardenborough took fourth place for Arden International, holding off fellow Briton Nick Yelloly of Status Grand Prix for most of the race.

Another Briton, Emil Bernstorff, made some good overtaking manoeuvres to take sixth for Carlin, passing Dean Stoneman, Pal Varhaug and Dino Zamparelli in excellent fashion. Bernstorff’s pass on Stoneman into Eau Rouge was particularly good, with amazing commitment on a damp track through one of the standout corners on the circuit.

Zamparelli of ART Grand Prix finished seventh, while Varhaug took the final point on offer in eighth for Jenzer Motorsport. He just held off Stoneman, with the race one winner finishing alongside Varhaug but missing out on a point by just 0.017s.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

1 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 28m25.130s
2 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +2.050s
3 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +7.947s
4 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International +13.530s
5 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +14.501s
6 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin +14.758s
7 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +16.745s
8 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +19.075s
9 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +19.092s
10 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +20.980s
11 Kevin Ceccon ITA Jenzer Motorsport +22.067s
12 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport +34.829s
13 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +40.131s
14 Luca Ghiotto ITA Trident Racing +40.616s
15 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix +43.370s
16 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +46.892s
17 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix +51.011s
18 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP +52.123s
19 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +52.777s
20 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +54.430s
21 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +54.868s
22 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Trident Racing +58.526s
23/RET Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +1 Lap
RET Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 9 Laps
RET Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 4 Laps
DNS Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport 0 Laps