BRDC Formula 4Formula Ford

Meridian Make F4 Switch

1 Mins read

Meridian Racing have left the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain in favour of MSV’s BRDC Formula 4 Championship. The team make their F4 debut at Silverstone this weekend with Connor Jupp and Jai Nijjar.

The team have made the switch after holding fourth place in the Formula Ford series which supports the BTCC. Meridian have also run cars in Ginetta Juniors, Ginetta GT Supercup, the Renault UK Clio Cup and MSV series.

Meridian Racing Team Principal Paul Abercrombie commented: “We’ve been taking a close look at the BRDC F4 Championship since its inception, and the opportunity has now presented itself for us to join the series. It’s clear that BRDC F4 is the most competitive single seater championship in the UK and we’re very excited to be taking part from this weekend onwards with Connor Jupp and Jai Nijjar. Both drivers have tested the car and are looking forward to the challenge.”

“I can’t wait to join F4 at Silverstone,” Jupp added. “The car is fantastic to drive and the paddleshift gearbox certainly adds to the experience. F4 is a very competitive series and I’m looking forward to racing against lots of drivers who I last competed against in karting. I was able to beat them in karting, and I hope to do the same in F4!”

MSV Chief Executive Jonathan Palmer welcomed the team to the series saying, “I’m delighted to welcome Meridian to BRDC Formula 4. They have clearly considered the future prospects for their team and drivers very carefully and will enjoy the size and closeness of the BRDC F4 grid with the prospect of podium finishes soon.”

Meridian’s Formula Ford GB entries were filled by two MBM Motorsport entered cars at Snetterton last time the BTCC package raced.

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.

Leave a Reply