Nasr Dominates Sprint Race to close gap to Palmer

Felipe Nasr took the lead at the start of the Sprint race in Belgium and was never headed to take his fourth GP2 Series win of the season, closing the gap in the championship to Jolyon Palmer to 32 points with only races in Italy, Russia and Abu Dhabi to come.

Making a good start from fifth place, the Carlin driver took the lead away from pole sitter Daniel Abt, and then took the win by over five seconds from Johnny Cecotto Jr of Trident Racing.

Palmer continued his unbroken streak of scoring points in 2014 by taking the final step of the podium, but The DAMS driver was made to work hard for the position, having Abt in the Hilmer Motorsport machine all over him for long periods of the race.

Abt lost fourth on the final lap to the charging Russian Time entry of Mitch Evans, but did hold onto fifth ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne of ART Grand Prix.

Stefano Coletti had a stunning drive for Racing Engineering, taking seventh after starting down in 24th, while Andre Negrao scored the final point in eighth for Arden International.

Feature race winner Raffaele Marciello finished down in fourteenth for Racing Engineering after spinning on the opening lap after a clash with the Russian Time machine of Artem Markelov. Marciello dropped to the back of the field to twenty-fourth but managed to make up a number of places

Spa-Francorchamps Sprint Race Result

1 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 36m14.575s
2 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +5.157s
3 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +7.157s
4 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +7.598s
5 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +10.019s
6 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +10.648s
7 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +14.038s
8 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +20.391s
9 Tom Dillmann GBR EQ8 Caterham Racing +21.675s
10 Julian Leal COL Carlin +22.486s
11 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport +26.510s
12 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +28.491s
13 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +29.790s
14 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +36.284s
15 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +40.238s
16 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +51.786s
17 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +54.342s
18 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing +54.604s
19 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +54.874s
20 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +55.574s
21 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +59.175s
22 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +59.423s
23 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +1m16.668s
RET Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 13 Laps
RET Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 7 Laps
RET Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 3 Laps