Auto GP

Sato Inherits Win after Pal Kiss handed Penalty

1 Mins read

Kimiya Sato moved one step closer to the Auto GP World Series title after inheriting the victory in race one at the Nurburgring after on-track winner Tamas Pal Kiss was handed a post-race penalty for a yellow flag infringement.

Hungarian driver Pal Kiss was deemed to have set his fastest sector time under a yellow flag, and was handed a 25-second penalty that relegated the Virtuosi UK driver to fourth. A lot of drivers were handed a drive-through during the race for the same offence as the FMS Racing machine of Salvatore de Plano was cleared up after crashing on lap two, but stewards post-race deemed that Pal Kiss was also guilty of the offence.

Sato had moved up from eleventh on the grid to lead the race at the German circuit before making his compulsory pit stop late in the day, and the Euronova Racing driver was in the right place to take advantage of Pal Kiss’ penalty to claim his sixth win of the season. Pal Kiss will need to reduce the Japanese drivers’ lead at the top by eleven points in Sunday’s second race to prevent Sato from claiming the title in Germany.

FMS Racing’s Kevin Giovesi finished third on the road but is promoted to second, while Markus Pommer inherits third place for Super Nova International. Both drivers were amongst the drivers to take a drive-through for yellow flag offences.

Andrea Roda was a disappointing fifth for Virtuosi UK, having taken his maiden win in the series in the previous event in Austria. Michela Cerruti was sixth for Super Nova International ahead of Yoshitaka Kuroda of Euronova Racing.

Francesco Dracone was originally fifth for Super Nova International but dropped to eighth after another post-race penalty, while Michele La Rosa was the final finisher in ninth for MLR71 by Euronova.

Nurburgring Race 1 Result

1 Kimiya Sato JAP Euronova Racing 37m06.445s
2 Kevin Giovesi ITA FMS Racing +7.854s
3 Markus Pommer GER Super Nova International +9.425s
4 Tamas Pal Kiss HUN Virtuosi UK +15.402s
5 Andrea Roda ITA Virtuosi UK +37.270s
6 Michela Cerruti ITA Super Nova International +37.532s
7 Yoshitaka Kuroda JAP Euronova Racing +43.222s
8 Francesco Dracone ITA Super Nova International +58.309s
9 Michele La Rosa ITA MLR71 by Euronova +1m01.921s
RET Giuseppe Cipriani ITA Ibiza Racing Team 8 Laps
RET Salvatore de Plano ITA FMS Racing 1 Lap


Related posts
Auto GP

Auto GP season postponed due to entry levels

1 Mins read
Dwindling entry levels has forced the 2015 Auto GP season to be put on hold, with this weekend’s round at Paul Ricard cancelled.
Auto GP

Sa Silva holds off Regalia for race two victory

1 Mins read
Luis Sa Silva took his maiden Auto GP victory in thrilling style, holding off Facu Regalia by just 0.048s.
Auto GP

Pizzonia beats Regalia to take Silverstone opener

1 Mins read
Antonio Pizzonia jumped Facu Regalia at the start and was untouchable throughout to take his second Auto GP win of 2015 at Silverstone.

Leave a Reply