GP3 Series

Eriksson Beats Zamparelli to take GP3 Monza Pole

1 Mins read

Jimmy Eriksson took his second pole position of the 2014 GP3 Series season with a superb lap of 1:38.195s at the end of the qualifying session at Monza to take the four points bonus for taking top spot.

In a session that saw positions two through to thirteen covered by less than three tenths of a second, the Koiranen GP driver was an amazing 0.308s faster than second placed Dino Zamparelli who put his ART Grand Prix entry on the front row for this afternoon’s opening race.

Zamparelli’s lap time denied fellow Briton Nick Yelloly of Status Grand Prix by just 0.033s, while Emil Bernstorff was fourth for Carlin a further 0.075s behind Yelloly.

Championship rivals Richie Stanaway and Alex Lynn were once again locked together, with Status Grand Prix driver Stanaway fifth 0.031s ahead of Carlin driver Lynn.

Robert Visoiu of Arden International was only 0.001s behind Lynn in seventh, while Marvin Kirchhofer of ART Grand Prix was eighth a further 0.012s behind. The Marussia Manor Racing pairing of Patrick Kujala and Dean Stoneman rounded out the top ten.

Monza Race 1 Qualifying Times

1 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:38.195
2 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:38.503
3 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:38.536
4 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:38.611
5 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:38.636
6 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:38.667
7 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:38.668
8 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:38.680
9 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:38.682
10 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:38.685
11 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:38.714
12 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:38.776
13 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:38.788
14 Kevin Ceccon ITA Jenzer Motorsport 1:38.931
15 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:38.998
16 Mitch Gilbert AUS Trident Racing 1:39.130
17 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:39.245
18 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:39.260
19 Luca Ghiotto ITA Trident Racing 1:39.299
20 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:39.303
21 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Trident Racing 1:39.323
22 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 1:39.353
23 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:39.364
24 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:39.412
25 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:39.599
26 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:39.674
27 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:41.413


Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.

Leave a Reply