Merhi, Sainz Lock-out Hungaroring Race 2 Front Row

Roberto Merhi took pole position for the second Formula Renault 3.5 Series race at the Hungaroring on a drying track, beating his main championship rival Carlos Sainz Jr to top spot.

Race one winner Merhi, Sainz Jr and Norman Nato were the last three drivers over the line as the track dried, and it was the Zeta Corse driver who managed to get the best out of his lap, setting a time of 1:37.400s to beat Sainz by 0.362s and Nato by 0.705s.

Race one pole sitter Oliver Rowland was fourth for Fortec Motorsports behind the two DAMS drivers but ahead of the impressive Pons Racing duo of Oscar Tunjo and Meindert van Buuren, who both managed to get a good last lap in to move up the order.

Pierre Gasly, who finished second in race one on Saturday for Arden Motorsport, will start race two from seventh, ahead of Luca Ghiotto of International Draco Racing, while William Buller was ninth for Arden Motorsport.

Marco Sorensen beat his debutant Tech 1 Racing team-mate Nicholas Latifi to the final place in the top ten.

The other debutant Esteban Ocon blotted his copybook by crashing his Comtec Racing machine heavily at turn ten with five minutes to go, causing the session to be stopped, meaning that everybody scrambled for position as they exited the pits, and it was Merhi, Sainz, Nato and the two Pons Racing drivers who made the best of the time remaining.

Hungaroring Race 2 Qualifying Result

1 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:37.400
2 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:37.762
3 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:38.105
4 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:39.827
5 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:39.892
6 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:40.791
7 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:41.001
8 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:41.168
9 William Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:41.724
10 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:41.733
11 Nicholas Latifi CAN Tech 1 Racing 1:41.995
12 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:42.200
13 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports 1:42.332
14 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:42.504
15 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:42.527
16 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR 1:42.812
17 Cameron Twynham GBR Comtec Racing 1:43.307
18 Matias Lainé FIN Strakka Racing 1:43.346
19 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula 1:43.441
20 Zoel Amberg SWI AV Formula 1:43.924
21 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:43.948
22 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:44.661
23 Esteban Ocon FRA Comtec Racing 1:51.724