Oliver Rowland Grabs Hungaroring Race One Pole

by Paul Hensby

Oliver Rowland took his second Formula Renault 3.5 Series pole position of the season at the Hungaroring as his Fortec Motorsport team-mate Sergey Sirotkin’s miserable weekend continued.

Rowland set a best time of 1:30.203s to beat Frenchman Pierre Gasly of Arden Motorsport into second place by 0.153s, but Sirotkin will have to start at the back of the grid after stopping on track, causing a red flag.

Pole sitter Rowland will be hoping to take advantage of Carlos Sainz Jr’s disappointing session, with the current championship leader down in fourteenth for DAMS. Norman Nato will be hoping to help his team-mate as he starts third, the best qualifying performance from the Frenchman since his Monaco pole position in May.

It will be an all-French second row, with Matthieu Vaxiviere of Lotus joining Nato, while Briton Will Stevens will start fifth for Strakka Racing. Series debutant Esteban Ocon continued his fine first weekend for Comtec Racing, qualifying an impressive sixth.

Roberto Merhi, who had his first run in free practice for the Caterham F1 Team last weekend at Monza, will start seventh for Zeta Corse alongside Tech 1 Racing’s Marco Sorensen, while Oscar Tunjo of Pons Racing and Matias Laine of Strakka Racing fill up row five.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Times

1 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:30.203
2 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:30.356
3 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:30.401
4 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:30.531
5 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:30.602
6 Esteban Ocon FRA Comtec Racing 1:30.722
7 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:30.783
8 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:30.937
9 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:31.006
10 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing 1:31.263
11 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR 1:31.334
12 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:31.385
13 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:31.476
14 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:31.648
15 Cameron Twynham GBR Comtec Racing 1:31.920
16 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:32.070
17 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:32.172
18 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula 1:32.644
19 Zoel Amberg SWI AV Formula 1:32.911
20 Nicholas Latifi CAN Tech 1 Racing 1:34.146
21 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:39.702
22 William Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:39.859
23 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports 1:41.696


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More