Pic leads Vandoorne in GP2 Monza Practice

Arthur Pic was fastest in the sole GP2 Series free practice session in Monza as the top twenty drivers were covered by less than a second.

Frenchman Pic, winner of the Hungarian Feature race at the end of July driving for Campos Racing, set a best lap time of 1:32.256s to beat Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne of ART Grand Prix by 0.178s, while championship leader Jolyon Palmer was third for DAMS.

Mitch Evans was fourth for Russian Time ahead of Stefano Coletti of Racing Engineering, with Simon Trummer an impressive sixth for Rapax. Felipe Nasr, the closest rival to Palmer in the championship, was seventh fastest for Carlin.

Spa-Francorchamps Feature race winner Raffaele Marciello was eighth in the second Racing Engineering entry, ahead of Stephane Richelmi of DAMS in ninth, while Jon Lancaster was tenth for Hilmer Motorsport.

GP2 Series Debutant Pierre Gasly had a trouble free session for EQ8 Caterham Racing and finished twenty-second as the Red Bull-backed driver came to terms with his new machinery having raced this season in the Formula Renault 3.5 series for Arden Motorsport.

The session went relatively trouble free, aside from Coletti spinning into the gravel at the Parabolica corner, and Rio Haryanto stopping his EQ8 Caterham Racing machine at the Ascari chicane.

Monza Free Practice Times

1 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:32.256
2 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:32.434
3 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:32.535
4 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:32.545
5 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:32.598
6 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:32.651
7 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:32.676
8 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:32.697
9 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:32.712
10 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.787
11 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:32.827
12 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:32.855
13 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:32.872
14 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:32.905
15 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:33.017
16 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:33.078
17 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:33.136
18 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:33.169
19 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:33.188
20 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:33.214
21 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:33.309
22 Pierre Gasly FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:33.520
23 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:33.521
24 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:33.641
25 Sergio Campana ITA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:33.832
26 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.281