GP2 Series

Vandoorne defeats Pic for Third Win of 2014

2 Mins read

Stoffel Vandoorne converted pole position in Monza into his third victory of the GP2 Series season as he held off Arthur Pic throughout for the Feature race win.

ART Grand Prix driver Vandoorne and Campos Racing driver Pic have been the outstanding drivers of the weekend so far, with the duo having topped both the free practice session and the qualifying at Monza, and they comfortable held the top two positions throughout the race, aside from the few laps when the mandatory pit stops were taken.

Vandoorne eventually took the chequered flag first, finishing six tenths of a second clear of Pic, while Mitch Evans of Russian Time completed the podium, albeit four seconds behind the leading duo up front.

Stephane Richelmi scored points for DAMS for the first time in six races in fourth, ahead of Andre Negrao of Arden International, who kept his Brazilian counterpart Felipe Nasr behind him, with the Carlin driver only finishing sixth.

Marco Sorensen finished seventh for MP Motorsport ahead of the impressive Jolyon Palmer, who climbed from the back of the field to take eighth and reverse grid pole position for tomorrow’s Sprint race, and took the bonus points on offer for fastest lap. Sorensen and Palmer were the main beneficiaries of using the harder Pirelli tyre for their first stint before switching to the Medium compound at their pit stops.

Palmer overtook Racing Engineering’s Stefano Coletti for eighth, with the Monegasque driver being forced to settle for ninth, while the final point went to Johnny Cecotto Jr of Trident Racing.

Daniel Abt of Hilmer Motorsport was on course for a good result, but the hard charging German was forced into retirement in a collision with Julian Leal of Carlin that was adjudged to be the Colombian drivers fault, and Leal tumbled out of the top ten after a drive-through penalty was applied.

At least he got further than Raffaele Marciello of Racing Engineering, who had a bad start from the second row and ultimately ended up in the wrong place at the wrong time and was eliminated on the second lap after being forced into the gravel while avoiding an accident involving Kimiya Sato, Daniel de Jong, Takuya Izawa and Rene Binder.

Monza Feature Race Result

1 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 48m02.203s
2 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +0.673s
3 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +4.102s
4 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +9.502s
5 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +11.140s
6 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin +11.605s
7 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport +14.458s
8 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +15.049s
9 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +16.704s
10 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +17.164s
11 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +25.885s
12 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport +29.125s
13 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +29.928s
14 Julian Leal COL Carlin +44.529s
15 Sergio Campana ITA Venezuela GP Lazarus +49.032s
16 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +57.081s
17 Pierre Gasly FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing +57.868s
18 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +1m03.139s
19 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +1m10.746s
20 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +1m13.478s
21 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time +1 Lap
RET Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 18 Laps
RET Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1 Lap
RET Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1 Lap
RET Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1 Lap
RET Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1 Lap


12479 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.