GP2 Series

Vandoorne takes second consecutive Pole at Monza

2 Mins read

Stoffel Vandoorne took his second consecutive GP2 Series pole position by posting the fastest time in qualifying for the Italian Feature race at Monza, but championship leader Jolyon Palmer will start at the back after being excluded from the session.

The Belgian ART Grand Prix driver defeated practice pace setter Arthur Pic of Campos Racing by 0.219s in a session where the top twenty-two drivers were covered by less than a second.

Vandoorne got the timing of his second run spot on, and was able to watch calmly from the pit lane while his rivals tried and failed to beat his 1:31.707s time.

Pic’s second place on the grid was his best qualifying result of the season, and meant Mitch Evans of Russian Time and Palmer of DAMS had to settle for third and fourth respectively. However post-qualifying, it was found that Palmer’s car did not have the required one-litre of fuel, and the Briton was excluded from the times and will have to start at the back of the field.

Raffaele Marciello inherited fourth for Racing Engineering, just beating the Rapax of Simon Trummer, while Stephane Richelmi will start sixth in the second DAMS machine.

Championship contender Felipe Nasr will start seventh for Carlin, and led a train of thirteen cars covered by less than two tenths of a second; Adrian Quaife-Hobbs in nineteenth was only 0.176s slower than Nasr in seventh, which indicates the Saturday Feature race could be an entertaining affair.

Nasr’s Carlin team-mate Julian Leal will start eighth, ahead of the ever-improving Andre Negrao of Arden International in ninth; the Brazilian scored his first points of the season last time out at Spa-Francorchamps and will be looking for more this weekend in Italy.

Red Bull-backed Series debutant Pierre Gasly will start twenty-first for EQ8 Caterham Racing, 1.119s off pole position but only 0.465s behind his team-mate Rio Haryanto who will start tenth.

Monza Feature Race Qualifying Times

1 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:31.707
2 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:31.926
3 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:31.934
4 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:32.124
5 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:32.137
6 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:32.150
7 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:32.310
8 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:32.343
9 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:32.354
10 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:32.361
11 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.385
12 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:32.412
13 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:32.413
14 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:32.419
15 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.422
16 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:32.435
17 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:32.473
18 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:32.483
19 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:32.486
20 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:32.624
21 Pierre Gasly FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:32.826
22 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:32.881
23* Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:32.533
24 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:32.912
25 Sergio Campana ITA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:33.409
26** Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:32.010

*Three Place Penalty for Impeding*

**Times Deleted for Failure to Have Enough Fuel in Car after Qualifying**


Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

Leave a Reply