2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Finalists Announced

The finalists for the 2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award have been announced, with three drivers from European Formula Renault joined by two from the BRDC Formula 4 Championship, and one from Formula Ford GB.

Only one of the finalists has received the honour before, with Seb Morris reaching the top six for a second consecutive year after finishing third overall in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup this season with two wins.

Ben Barnicoat joins him on the list having followed the last two MABA winners Jake Dennis and Matt Parry in winning the NEC title, while British-born Thai racer Alexander Albon is on the shortlist, three podiums currently putting him fourth in the FR2.0 Eurocup standings in his third year in the category.

George Russell and Sennan Fielding are the representatives from BRDC F4, the duo currently sitting second and fourth in the standings respectively with one meeting left to run, while Harrison Scott is the first Formula Ford finalist since 2011, the 18 year old currently sitting as joint championship leader heading into the season finale this weekend.

The six drivers will head to Silverstone later this month for their shoot-out, where they will be assessed in Formula 2, DTM and McLaren GT3 machinery by a judging panel that includes BRDC president Derek Warwick, former GT racer Andrew Kirkaldy and BTCC ace Jason Plato.

The winner will be revealed at the Autosport Awards in December and will receive £100,000, a McLaren F1 test driver, full BRDC membership and an Arai GP-6 RC carbon helmet.