Formula Renault 3.5

Pietro Fantin tops day 1 of Jerez Test

1 Mins read

Pietro Fantin was quickest for International Draco Racing on day one of the post-Jerez test. The Brazilian, one of only four drivers to test for the same team he raced for last weekend, topped the morning session with a time of 1:27.915s.

Dean Stoneman, on his first run with Arden Motorsport, was quickest in the afternoon session and was the only driver to improve his time from the morning, but his 1:28.710s lap could only put him ninth fastest overall on the day.

Alex Fontana, who was having his first run for Lotus, was second with the Swiss driver 0.062s behind Fantin, while Matthieu Vaxiviere in the second Lotus, followed closely behind in third.

Nicholas Latifi, fresh from his maiden series podium in the season finale on Sunday was fourth having switched from Tech 1 Racing to Strakka Racing, while another driver who switched teams Luca Ghiotto was fifth having moved to Fortec Motorsports from International Draco Racing.

Beitske Visser was sixth for AV Formula on the back of her best weekend of the year in the season finale when she finished an excellent fifth in race one, while Jordan King was seventh for Arden Motorsport, a few days after ending his European Formula 3 Championship season with a podium finish at Hockenheim.

Oscar Tunjo was eighth overall for Pons Racing ahead of Stoneman, while Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series champion Nyck de Vries completed the top ten on his first run for his 2015 team DAMS.

Nineteen drivers got time on track, thirteen of which did not compete in the season finale at Jerez last weekend. AV Formula, Tech 1 Racing and Comtec Racing all only ran one car, while ISR ran two after only running one during the whole of the 2014 season.

Jerez Post Season Test Day 1 Times

1 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:27.915
2 Alex Fontana SWI Lotus 1:27.977
3 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:28.071
4 Nicholas Latifi CAN Strakka Racing 1:28.160
5 Luca Ghiotto ITA Fortec Motorsports 1:28.206
6 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula 1:28.259
7 Jordan King GBR Arden Motorsport 1:28.433
8 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:28.452
9 Dean Stoneman GBR Arden Motorsport 1:28.710
10 Nyck de Vries NED DAMS 1:28.804
11 Dennis Olsen NOR Strakka Racing 1:28.823
12 Steijn Schothorst NED Comtec Racing 1:28.916
13 Richard Gonda SLK Tech 1 Racing 1:28.921
14 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ International Draco Racing 1:28.936
15 Egor Orudzhev RUS Fortec Motorsports 1:28.978
16 Robert Visoiu ROM Pons Racing 1:29.035
17 Gustav Malja SWE ISR 1:29.086
18 Andrea Pizzitola FRA ISR 1:29.554
19 Jimmy Eriksson SWE DAMS 1:29.992


Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply