Roberto Merhi takes pole for series finale

After crashing out of race one on Saturday and seeing his last chance of taking the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series title disappear in the process, Roberto Merhi stormed to pole position for Sunday’s second race at Jerez.

The Zeta Corse driver took his fourth pole position of a strong season, and will be hoping for his fourth victory of the season to secure second place in the championship, with his rival for that position Pierre Gasly third on the grid.

Oliver Rowland will start second for Fortec Motorsports hoping to go one better after finishing second in race one, less than a tenth of a second away from the win.

Gasly, who trails Merhi by three points, will start third for Arden Motorsport, and will be looking for his first win of the season to jump into second spot in the championship.

Nicholas Latifi was an excellent fourth for Tech 1 Racing ahead of William Buller, who will be hoping for a strong end of a disappointing season for Arden Motorsport.

Zoel Amberg will start sixth in the leading AV Formula entry ahead of Pietro Fantin of International Draco Racing, while Oscar Tunjo starts eighth for Pons Racing.

Matthieu Vaxiviere will start ninth for Lotus ahead of Beitske Visser, who continues to impress this weekend for AV Formula in tenth.

The closeness of the series is emphasised by race one winner Will Stevens only qualifying his Strakka Racing machine down in thirteenth, just ahead of the newly crowned series Champion Carlos Sainz Jr of DAMS in fourteenth.

Jerez Race 2 Qualifying Times

1 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:27.525
2 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:27.802
3 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:27.831
4 Nicholas Latifi CAN Tech 1 Racing 1:27.959
5 William Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:27.988
6 Zoel Amberg SWI AV Formula 1:28.049
7 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:28.066
8 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:28.098
9 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:28.100
10 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula 1:28.114
11 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports 1:28.137
12 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:28.153
13 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:28.234
14 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:28.250
15 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:28.279
16 Matias Lainé FIN Strakka Racing 1:28.405
17 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR Racing 1:28.436
18 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:28.504
19 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:28.543
20 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:28.583
21 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:28.898