12 Teams, 32 Cars Confirmed For 2015 MSA Formula

by Simon Paice

The organisers of the new MSA Formula series have today confirmed that all 32 available chassis for 2015 have been sold, with the twelve teams running them also announced.

The entry list for the inaugural campaign features a mix of big-name international single-seater teams and stalwarts of the domestic scene, as well as two teams making an intriguing transition into open-wheel racing.

Headlining the entry are GP3 and GP2 outfits Arden Motorsport and Carlin, alongside Formula 3 powerhouses Fortec Motorsport and Double R Racing.

They will be joined be existing Formula Ford outfits Falcon Motorsport, JTR, MBM Motorsport, Richardson Racing and SWB Motorsport, while making the transition from Protyre Formula Renault will be Scorpio Motorsport.

Completing the grid will be multiple Renault UK Clio Cup champions Team Pyro, and reigning Ginetta Junior champions JHR Developments.

All the teams will be running either two or three of the Mygale-constructed MSA Formula chassis, with the teams to receive at least one each at the end of the year.

Gerard Quinn, Head of Ford Racing in Europe, says the championship received 50 deposits for the cars, leaving them with a tough team selection process.

“On the day we unveiled the car we received 70 provisional orders. This translated into a remarkable 50 cash deposits for cars, so together with the MSA we have had to look carefully at every proposal; inevitably we have had to disappoint some people,” said Quinn.

“The great news is that MSA Formula has attracted 12 quality teams, that all 32 cars have found buyers, and that the new championship is set to be a huge success. It is great to be able to look forward to a return to big grids, close competition and the emergence of some great new young driving talent.”

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More