Formula Renault 3.5

Latifi concludes Aragon test with fastest time

1 Mins read

Nicholas Latifi set the fastest time of the week for Arden Motorsport on the final day of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series test at Motorland Aragon in Spain.

The Canadian, who finished on the podium for the first time in the series last month at Jerez whilst driving for Tech 1 Racing, set a best time late in the day of 1:40.479s to beat the best time from day two set by Matthieu Vaxiviere by 0.040s.

Oliver Rowland was second fastest on Wednesday on his first day in his Fortec Motorsports car since winning the season finale in Jerez last month, while Jazeman Jaafar was third for DAMS ahead of Vaxiviere of Lotus.

The second Lotus was fifth in the hands of Frenchman Andrea Pizzitola, while Brazilian Pietro Fantin was sixth for International Draco Racing.

Austrian Lucas Auer was seventh in the second of the Arden Motorsport machines ahead of Egor Orudzhev for Fortec Motorsports, while Beitske Visser was ninth for AVF ahead of Dennis Olsen of Strakka Racing.

Tech 1 Racing sat out the final day of the test, while ISR Racing missed all three days but both teams are expected to be back racing next season.

Aragon Test Day 3 Times

POS DRIVER NAT TEAM Session 1 Session 2
1 Nicholas Latifi CAN Arden Motorsport 1:40.479 1:41.166
2 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:40.805 1:40.764
3 Jazeman Jaafar MAL DAMS 1:41.580 1:40.820
4 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:41.231 1:40.943
5 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Lotus 1:40.982 1:40.963
6 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:41.016 1:41.277
7 Lucas Auer AUT Arden Motorsport 1:41.069 1:41.223
8 Egor Orudzhev RUS Fortec Motorsports 1:41.085 1:41.180
9 Beitske Visser NED AVF 1:41.140 1:41.164
10 Dennis Olsen NOR Strakka Racing 1:41.695 1:41.248
11 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ International Draco Racing 1:41.350 1:42.888
12 Gustav Malja SWE Zeta Corse 1:41.707 1:41.394
13 Nyck de Vries NED DAMS 1:41.403 1:41.402
14 Luca Ghiotto ITA Strakka Racing 1:41.689 1:41.556
15 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:41.797 1:41.702
16 Vasily Romanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:41.837 1:42.095
17 Meindert van Buuren NED Comtec Racing 1:42.188 1:41.922
18 Nelson Mason CAN Pons Racing 1:42.966 1:42.078
19 Alex Bosak POL AVF 1:42.190 1:42.902
20 Marvin Kirchhofer GER Comtec Racing 1:42.934 1:42.298


13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.