GP3 Series

Niederhauser Wins As Carlin Take The Team Title

2 Mins read

Patric Niederhauser claimed his second win of the season in Abu Dhabi as driver champion Alex Lynn finished third to help Carlin clinch the Team championship.

Niederhauser started from p2 but immediately shot in to the lead ahead of reverse pole man Nick Yelloly. Yelloly tried his best to keep up with Niederhauser but the Arden man began to stretch his advantage before the safety car was deployed for damage on the kerbing of the entrance of the marina.

Once the safety car came in Niederhauser began to extend his lead once again, peaking at over four seconds, and Yelloly fell into a battle with champion Lynn.

The Status GP of Yelloly was able to fend off Lynn though and he claimed his best result of the season to secure 7th place in the driver standings.

Championship runner-up Dean Stoneman’s race came to a premature end after a first corner incident with Alex Fontana.

Stoneman locked up going into turn one and subsequently collided with Fontana. This left Stoneman with significant damage forcing him to retire.

Following Stoneman’s retirement Marvin Kirchhofer could have stole 2nd place in the championship away from the Brit. Kirchhofer and Stoneman were both lined up on row four with a brilliant fight for runner-up in the standings looming. Kirchhofer however didn’t move away from the formation lap and was pushed back to the pitlane where he would start behind Patrick Kujala.

Even after Stoneman retired Kirchhofer had an almost impossible task to get the points needed to overhaul him. The German needed to finish 6th but could only manage to come home 12th after a spirited drive through the field.

The Trident of Ryan Cullen was another first lap casualty after the third Carlin of Luis Sa Silva nudged him into a spin. This resulted in a drive drive-thru penalty for Sa Silva.

The Team championship ended up being comfortably won by Carlin by a margin of 17 points. This was mainly due to Kirchhofer finishing outside of the points meaning Dino Zamparelli in 5th was ART’s main points scorer while Carlin scored big with Lynn in 3rd and team-mate Emil Bernstoff in 4th to finish the year on 343 points.

1. Patric Niederhauser Arden International 28:24.119s (14 laps)
2. Nick Yelloly Status Grand Prix + 4.920s
3. Alex Lynn Carlin + 7.698s
4. Emil Bernstorff Carlin + 8.411s
5. Dino Zamparelli ART Grand Prix + 10.454s
6. Kevin Ceccon Jenzer Motorsport + 13.180s
7. Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP + 15.134s
8. Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix + 17.898s
9. Robert Visoiu Arden International + 18.472s
10. Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport + 22.214s
11. Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport + 23.927s
12. Marvin Kirchhöfer ART Grand Prix + 24.505s
13. Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP + 30.809s
14. Riccardo Agostini Hilmer Motorsport + 31.159s
15. Patrick Kujala Trident + 31.883s
16. Alex Fontana ART Grand Prix + 32.473s
17. Ling Kang Trident + 43.279s
18. Luis Sa Silva Carlin + 63.133s
19. Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport + 1 lap

Jann Mardenborough Arden International (retired on lap 10)
Alfonso Celis Jr Status Grand Prix (retired on lap 8)
Ryan Cullen Trident (retired on lap 1)
Dean Stoneman Koiranen GP (retired on lap 1)

Drivers championship
1. Alex Lynn 205pts
2. Dean Stoneman 163pts
3. Marvin Kirchhöfer 161pts
4. Emil Bernstorff 132pts
5. Jimmy Eriksson 130pts
6. Richie Stanaway 124pts
7. Nick Yelloly 124pts
8. Dino Zamparelli 122pts
9. Patric Niederhauser 79pts
10. Jann Mardenborough 77pts
11. Alex Fontana 43pts
12. Mathéo Tuscher 29pts
13. Robert Visoiu 22pts
14. Patrick Kujala 22pts
15. Kevin Ceccon 20pts
16. Riccardo Agostini 18pts
17. Pål Varhaug 12pts
18. Roman de Beer 8pts
19. Luis Jorge Sá Silva 6pts
20. Luca Ghiotto 4pts
21. Alfonso Celis 2pts

Teams championship
1. Carlin 343pts
2. ART Grand Prix 326pts
3. Status Grand Prix 250pts
4. Koiranen GP 198pts
5. Arden International 178pts
6. Marussia Manor Racing 117pts
7. Jenzer Motorsport 61pts
8. Hilmer Motorsport 18pts
9. Trident 12pts

155 posts

About author
Journalist, broadcaster and PR man. Love to yap and scribble about all things fast and loud. Previously worked with Autosport, ITV and the BTCC.
Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.

Leave a Reply