Vaxiviere keeps Lotus on top on day two at Aragon

by Paul Hensby

Matthieu Vaxiviere returned to the Lotus team for day two of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series test at Aragon and finished the day comfortably as the fastest driver on track.

The Frenchman was the only driver to set a lap time beneath 1:41s during the day, with his best time of 1:40.519s almost half a second clear of the rest of the field.

The morning session was held initially on a damp track, which meant it was the afternoon’s running that saw the quickest times, with Gustav Malja second fastest for Zeta Corse ahead of Pietro Fantin of International Draco Racing.

Jazeman Jaafar was fourth quickest for Fortec Motorsports after spending day one of the test driving for DAMS, with Egor Orudzhev fifth for Arden Motorsport, while the second Lotus of Nicholas Latifi was sixth in the order having switched over from running with Arden on Monday.

Beitske Visser continued her good testing form with seventh for AVF, while Dennis Olsen broke into the top ten for Strakka Racing in eighth, just ahead of the driver who beat him to the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series title in 2014 Nyck de Vries, who was ninth for DAMS. Another Eurocup race winner Andrea Pizzitola was tenth fastest for Tech 1 Racing.

Twenty-two drivers took to the track for action on day two, including for the first time this week FIA European Formula 3 race winner Lucas Auer, who was eleventh for Arden Motorsport, and Oscar Tunjo, who has already been confirmed to remain with Pons Racing for 2015 after joining them mid-season in 2014.

The third and final day of the Aragon test takes place on Wednesday, with Oliver Rowland set to test for the first time since winning the final race of the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season for Fortec Motorsports, while GP3 Series race winner Marvin Kirchhofer gets his first taste of 3.5 litre machinery with Comtec Racing.

Aragon Test Day 2 Times

POS DRIVER NAT TEAM Session 1 Session 2
1 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:41.463 1:40.519
2 Gustav Malja SWE Zeta Corse 1:50.709 1:41.014
3 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:41.720 1:41.096
4 Jazeman Jaafar MAL Fortec Motorsports 1:42.163 1:41.108
5 Egor Orudzhev RUS Arden Motorsport 1:42.123 1:41.116
6 Nicholas Latifi CAN Lotus 1:42.929 1:41.203
7 Beitske Visser NED AVF 1:42.156 1:41.252
8 Dennis Olsen NOR Strakka Racing 1:42.368 1:41.328
9 Nyck de Vries NED DAMS 1:42.192 1:41.364
10 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Tech 1 Racing 1:42.098 1:41.588
11 Lucas Auer AUT Arden Motorsport 1:42.628 1:41.603
12 Luis Sa Silva MAC Fortec Motorsports 1:42.750 1:41.621
13 Luca Ghiotto ITA Strakka Racing 1:42.209 1:41.841
14 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:42.255 1:41.984
15 Indy Dontje NED Comtec Racing 1:42.057
16 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ International Draco Racing 1:42.566 1:42.151
17 Meindert van Buuren NED Comtec Racing 1:42.785 1:42.228
18 Sandy Stuvik THA Pons Racing 1:43.899 1:42.278
19 Vasily Romanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:45.773 1:42.495
20 Alex Bosak POL AVF 1:46.541 1:43.297
21 Maxx Ebenal CAN Tech 1 Racing 1:46.483
22 Guillaume Cunnington FRA Tech 1 Racing 1:54.283


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More