Ginetta Junior

Zelos Heads 2014 Ginetta Winter Series Entry

1 Mins read

The entry list has been released for the 2014 Kick Start Energy Ginetta Junior Championship Winter Series, with race-winner Dan Zelos headed a sixteen car line-up.

The seventh annual Winter Series takes place at Snetterton in Norfolk this weekend (8/9 November), with one fifteen minute qualifying session and two races scheduled for each day.

Local racer Zelos heads into the meeting off the back of a sparkling maiden campaign in the BTCC support series. The 16 year old took two wins and seven other podium finishes en-route to fourth overall in the points this year, and is pre-event favourite for the Winter Series with JHR Developments.

His main competition may well come from within the JHR ranks in the form of podium finisher Senna Proctor. Steadily improving over the curse of his rookie year, Proctor took a third at Knockhill in August and will be aiming for more podium visits this weekend.

One driver who showed flashes of podium potential this year was Jonathan Hadfield. After taking a best finish of fourth with family team R&J Motorsport, Hadfield should be a contender at the front of the grid at Snetterton.

Also returning from the main championship are top-ten finishers Matt Chapman (Total Control Racing), Harry Mailer (Hillspeed), Flashman Finneran (Tollbar Racing) and privateers Billy Monger and Lewis Brown, as well as Benjamin Wallace (Hillspeed) and Sebastian Perez (Dansport).

As is the norm for the Winter Series, a host of new faces will also be taking to the track for their first Ginetta action. Reigning champions HHC Motorsport are fielding Patrick Matthiesen and Charlie Fagg, while Ben Green will be running with the Supergreen team.

Ones to watch will be 2014 BRSCC Ford Fiesta Junior champion Geri Nicosia who is joining with R&J alongside fellow debutant Connor Grady, and Tollbar recuit Alex Day, a race-winner in the Junior Saloon Car Championship this year.

The drivers will be aiming to follow in the footsteps of 2013 Winter champion James Kellett, who took the vice-champion honours this season, and fellow victors Harry Woodhead (2012) and Seb Morris (2010) who both won the main title the following year.

*Image Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography*

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
FeaturesGinetta JuniorMaurice Henry Column

Maurice Henry Column: I was expecting it to be a tough weekend for my return

3 Mins read
For his second TCF column Ginetta Junior Scholar Maurice Henry gives his thoughts on a challenging weekend as the drove his first race since 2018.
FeaturesGinetta JuniorMaurice Henry Column

Maurice Henry Column: Ginetta scholar ready for the new season

5 Mins read
Ginetta Junior scholar Maurice Henry gives a look as to how he has arrived to the 2021 season and how pre-season testing has gone.
Ginetta Junior

Maurice Henry set to race in Ginetta Juniors with Fox Motorsport

2 Mins read
Maurice Henry puts his foot on the first step of the ladder to becoming a factory GT driver as he prepares to make his sports car debut later in May.

Leave a Reply