Al Zubair and Lanzetti Join Hillspeed for the 2015 BRDC F4.

16-year-old Omani karting graduate Al Faisal Al Zubar and 18-year-old South African Sebastian Lanzetti are joining the BRDC Formula 4 series with experienced BARC team Hillspeed.

This marks Al Zubar’s full promotion from kart racing in a career which included the 2013/14 Oman Senior Rotax Max Challenge Crown, and was part of the title-winning Oman Endurance Karting Championship team.

Meanwhile, Lanzetti has been promoted after a thorough test of the car before Christmas. He also had a successful karting career with an appearance at the ROK world finals and the x30 Shifter Kart title in 2013. He also has experience in cars having had outings in domestic Formula Ford and Formula VW.

Hillspeed’s owner, Richard Ollerenshaw, commented: “We’re absolutely delighted to confirm two deals so early in the New Year and to welcome both Al Faisal and Sebastian into the team.”

The deal that was announced in early January, and went on to say: “Sebastian’s deal has been closed earlier than we originally expected, so we’re thrilled about that and believe it is testament to the quality of the BRDC Formula 4 car and the championship along with the good work we completed with him in early December during our exclusive test in Spain.”

The team at the time had not announced a third driver. However, Ollerenshaw said; “We’re currently in discussions with several other drivers concerning our third and final seat in F4 too and expect to be able to announce our complete 2015 line-up in the near future.”