2015 Dunlop 24 Grid Continues to Grow

The return of 24 hour racing to Silverstone after a two year absence continues to hit headlines as the entry list for the Dunlop 24 Hours at Silverstone continues to grow. Recent announcements cover all classes with big names joining the grid.

Heading the list of recent announcements is the Beechdean AMR team from British GT. Andrew Howard’s team are aiming for a strong result in the non-championship race with their Aston Martin Vantage GT4, the same car which took the Avon Tyres British GT Championship title in 2014. There has been no announcement on drivers yet though we expect Howard, himself a former British GT GT3 champion, to take his stints in the driver seat.

Team CHF500 have also confirmed their entry with a returning car. The Porsche 968 was built by Alex Eacock and EMC Motorsport and raced in the 2007 Britcar 24 Hours. Eacock will be joined by two former owners of the car, Paul Follett and Jonathan Evans along with Ben Demitriou. All proceeds and sponsorship for the race, which the team hope will come to at least £24,000, will go to the Children’s Heart Foundation’s work on Congenital Heart Disease.

SZ Motorsport bring their SEAT Leon Supacopa to the 24 hours with Paul Smith, Sean McInerney and James Thorpe at the wheel. The trio will be joined by Craig Davies when the Sub-Zero Wolf sponsored machine hits the track in April.

Finally, Nick Barrow and Neil Primrose have confirmed that they will bring their BMW 1 Series to the blue riband event in the Britcar season. The Saxon Motorsport built and run car is not a standard 1-Series by any means. The team have fitted a 5.0l V10 to the car which made occasional appearances in the 2014 Britcar Endruance Championship alongside a VLN campaign. The car will also contest the newly minted MSA Britcar Dunlop Endurance Championship this year.