Britcar Hit by Mosler ERS Switch

1 Mins read

2014 Britcar Endurance Championship class 1 champions Javier Morcillo and Manuel Cintrano will not be returning to the MSA Britcar Dunlop Endurance Championship in 2015. The Spanish duo have instead opted to race in the new Endurance Racing Series which gets underway at Rockingham in April.

Britcar stalwarts ING Sport have also confirmed that they will be racing in the ERS in 2015 with a newly acquired BMW Z4 GT3. FF Corse’s championship winning duo of Calum Lockie and David Mason are set to run parallel campaigns.

The loss of the Neil Garner Motorsport run Mosler MT900 GT3 is a blow to Britcar who are on a path of recovery following two years of struggling grids. With the newly MSA backed championship set to start this month, there are no entries so far confirmed in the top class. Neil Garner’s race preparation department will be at Britcar meetings supporting Nick Holden’s Ariel Atom and Motionsport’s Wolf GB08 though neither entry has been confirmed by Britcar as yet.

The Britcar portfolio of championships has undergone a revamp in 2015 with MSA backing for the main series and Dunlop sponsorship for both the Britcar Dunlop Sports and Touring Car Championship and the Dunlop 24 Hours at Silverstone. The addition of both the Britcar Aston Martin Drivers Championship and Britcar Honda CN 2000 Drivers Championship to the grids for the endurance championship should secure the future of the series.

FF Corse meanwhile have supported the Britcar Trophy Championship with the inclusion of their FF Corse Ferrari Drivers Championship for 2015.

354 posts

About author
I am a photographer, writer and podcast presenter, specialising in GT and Endurance racing. I've been with The Checkered Flag since 2014, covering a wide range of racing series from Formula Ford to Formula 1, with British GT the main focus of my work. You can hear me monthly on the British GT Fans Show which can be found in our Recommended Listening section.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansBritcarFIA WECInterviewsSportscars

The car behind Brabham's return to the race track - BT62

8 Mins read
David Brabham and Will Powell piloted the Brabham BT62 to victory on its on-track debut at Brands Hatch earlier this month, and shed more light to The Checkered Flag on plans to return an iconic name to elite level motorsport.
BritcarInterviewsTouring Cars

Tim Docker - "I'm looking forward to returning to Britcar"

3 Mins read
The Checkered Flag had the chance to speak to 2018 Britcar Endurance racer and TCR UK Debutant Tim Docker at the 2019 Autosport International Show about last season and his plans for this year.
BritcarGinetta GT4 Supercup

Supercup Champion Crees To Race BTCC Toyota In Britcar

1 Mins read
Ginetta GT4 Supercup AM Class champion Michael Crees will make his Britcar debut next weekend with Team HARD.

Leave a Reply