Formula Renault 3.5

Ellinas on top again as opening test concludes

1 Mins read

Tio Ellinas was quickest for the second day in a row as the first Formula Renault 3.5 Series test came to an end on Friday at the Circuito de Jerez.

The Cypriot driver, racing this season for Strakka Racing, completed 44 laps of the Spanish circuit, posting a best time of 1m28.260s during the morning session to beat LotusMatthieu Vaxiviere by 0.260s.

The day was all about low set-up, with drivers practicing for the way cars will have to be set-up for the opening race of the weekends this season.

Tom Dillmann of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin was third fastest, ahead of Beitske Visser of AVF, while Jazeman Jaafar rounded out the top five for Fortec Motorsports.

The second Strakka Racing entry of Gustav Malja was sixth quickest, and was the busiest driver on the day, completing 81 laps, but was almost ninth-tenths of a second adrift of team-mate Ellinas.

Oliver Rowland was seventh for Fortec, ahead of Pietro Fantin of International Draco Racing, while Sean Galael in the second Carlin machine was ninth.

2014 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion Nyck de Vries completed the top ten for DAMS, who managed to repair Dean Stoneman’s car overnight from his big crash on Thursday afternoon, although the Red Bull-backed driver was only twenty-first quickest, ahead of only Aurelien Panis of Tech 1 Racing.

Circuito de Jerez Pre-Season Test 1 Day 2 Times

1 11 Tio Ellinas CYP Strakka Racing 1m28.260s 44
2 9 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1m28.520s 59
3 26 Tom Dillmann FRA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m28.680s 72
4 16 Beitske Visser NED AVF 1m28.718s 72
5 3 Jazeman Jaafar MAL Fortec Motorsports 1m28.957s 67
6 12 Gustav Malja SWE Strakka Racing 1m29.102s 81
7 4 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports 1m29.178s 63
8 19 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1m29.216s 61
9 25 Sean Gelael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m29.292s 60
10 1 Nyck de Vries NED DAMS 1m29.583s 75
11 8 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Zeta Corse 1m29.601s 62
12 10 Meindert van Buuren NED Lotus 1m29.893s 59
13 20 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ International Draco Racing 1m29.948s 63
14 39 Philo Paz Patrick Armand INO Pons Racing 1m30.061s 61
15 7 Facu Regalia ARG Zeta Corse 1m30.107s 68
16 6 Egor Orudzhev RUS Arden Motorsport 1m30.325s 78
17 5 Nicholas Latifi CAN Arden Motorsport 1m30.330s 33
18 15 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX AVF 1m30.456s 71
19 40 Roberto Merhi ESP Pons Racing 1m30.461s 65
20 17 Roy Nissany ISR Tech 1 Racing 1m30.562s 40
21 2 Dean Stoneman GBR DAMS 1m31.145s 43
22 18 Aurelien Panis FRA Tech 1 Racing 1m31.691s 61
11828 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply