2015 Dunlop 24 – Silverstone: Hour 24 Update

2 Mins read

The Beechdean AMR crew of Andrew Howard, Jonny Adam, Jamie Chadwick, Ross Gunn and Harry Whale completed a trouble free Dunlop 24 at Silverstone, winning the endurance event with the emphatic margin of five laps in hand over the St Bas Koeten Racing team who won class 4 in their SEAT.

The final three hours were a calm affair, with little of the drama that helped shape the race and guide The Aston Martin Vantage GT4 crew to the overall win.

Their lead did shrink in the closing stages with the final pitstops, but such was their advantage that there was, thankfully, never a scare in store for the team which included 24 Hour race debutants Chadwick and Gunn. The same can be said of the SEAT team who completed their own trouble free run to second ahead of the Cor Euser Racing team and their Lotus Evora.

Speedworks Motorsport finished third, rounding out the Class 3 podium behind Beechdean and the Lotus with the Aston Martin Lagonda entered Vantage GT4 making it three Astons in the top five overall.

Saxon Motorsport finished sixth overall, despite their BMW finally begging no more half and hour from the end of the race with the Radical Sportscars team seventh overall and winning a Class 1 that bore the brunt of the attrition during the race. Only one other car – the Team LNT Ginetta-Nissan – from the class was classified at the end of the race, the squad working to put the car on track for the closing stages to allow Sir Chris Hoy to cross the line at the end of his first 24 hour race. As well as the star turn Charlie Robertson stole the show late one. Another of the drivers tacking his first 24 hour race this weekend he backed up his early race pace by setting the fastest lap of the on lap 392 of the car’s 418.

The winners of all five classes finished the race inside the top ten, the Red SEAT victorious in Class 5 in eighth overall and the #91 MARC Cars Australia team – despite a late race 4 second stop-go penalty – finishing ninth overall to win Class 2 by a mammoth 23 laps.

2015 Dunlop 24 Hours at Silverstone overall standings after 24 hours:

1 – #35 Beechdean Motorsport Aston Martin – C3 – Andrew Howard/Jonny Adam/Ross Gunn/Jamie Chadwick/Harry Whale
2 – #50 St Bas Koeten Racing SEAT– C4 – Karel Gils Bessen/Roger Grouwels/Harry Hilders
3 – #37 Cor Euser Racing Lotus – C3 – Hal Prewitt/Joe Brody/Alistair MacKinnon/Dirk Schulz/Sam Alpass
4 – #41 Speedworks Motorsport Aston Martin – C3 – Anthony Hughes/Ollie Hancock/Devon Modell
5 – #36 Aston Martin Lagonda – C3 – Andrew Palmer/Marek Reichman/Alice Powell/Andrew Frankel

Other Class leaders

Class 1 – #10 Radical Sportscars – Laurence Wiltshire/Chihin Nouri/Martyn Smith/Richard Roberts (7th overall)
Class 2 – 91 MARC Cars Australia Ford – C2 – Tom Onslow-Cole/Ben Gersekowski/Paul White/Gary Jacobsen (9th overall)
Class 5 – #62 Red Camel – – Ivo Breukers/Rick Breukers/Sjaco Griffoen (8th overall)


Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansBritcarFIA WECInterviewsSportscars

The car behind Brabham's return to the race track - BT62

8 Mins read
David Brabham and Will Powell piloted the Brabham BT62 to victory on its on-track debut at Brands Hatch earlier this month, and shed more light to The Checkered Flag on plans to return an iconic name to elite level motorsport.
BritcarInterviewsTouring Cars

Tim Docker - "I'm looking forward to returning to Britcar"

3 Mins read
The Checkered Flag had the chance to speak to 2018 Britcar Endurance racer and TCR UK Debutant Tim Docker at the 2019 Autosport International Show about last season and his plans for this year.
BritcarGinetta GT4 Supercup

Supercup Champion Crees To Race BTCC Toyota In Britcar

1 Mins read
Ginetta GT4 Supercup AM Class champion Michael Crees will make his Britcar debut next weekend with Team HARD.

Leave a Reply