F4 British Championship

Dan Baybutt Claims Pole in First Qualifying of the Year

1 Mins read

A damp start to the day resulted in Dan Baybutt taking pole in the dying moments of Qualifying at Brands Hatch to give him and his JTR team the best possible chance of victory.

The air was dry, but a damp track meant it was similar conditions to yesterday Free Practice 1. The 20 minute session started with Ricky Collard being first out of the pits. He set the pace early on and improved on a few personal bests. Reducing his time from a 55.141 to a 53.936. Darius Karbaley spun at Clearways, he got going, but reported his transporter was not working.

There was some position changes at the top which saw Lando Norris and Colton Herta head a Carlin 1-2. Many others, including Matheus Leist who went top on a 52.171, improved as well but it was Norris who found himself on top with a drying track with 8 minutes to go.

James Pull and Dan Baybutt had already pitted for new tyres 5 minutes earlier, while Daniel Ticktum decided to pit in to move onto Slicks, shortly followed by Colton Herta. There were no major improvements towards the end of the session, but as the flag dropped it was Baybutt and Pull who had made large position gains to grab 1st and 3rd.

This ensured that Baybutt finished the session on top ahead of Norris, Pull, Leist and Ticktum.

Brands Hatch Qualifying Times

[table id=55 /]

Related posts
F4 British Championship

Carlin announce Kai Askey for debut British F4 campaign in 2021

1 Mins read
Carlin have announced karting graduate Kai Askey will join their line up for the 2021 F4 British Championship certified by FIA –…
F4 British Championship

2021 British F4 calendar altered due to to COVID-19

1 Mins read
An amended calendar has been unveiled for the 2021 F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost season. Due…
F4 British Championship

Format changes announced for 2021 British F4 season

2 Mins read
The 2021 British F4 championship undergoes radical format changes with qualifying times now being entirely reversed for race two, as well as an altered points system across the weekend.

Leave a Reply