Formula Renault 3.5

De Vries takes race two pole at Aragon

1 Mins read

Nyck de Vries took his maiden Formula Renault 3.5 Series pole position during a very close and exciting qualifying on Sunday morning at Motorland Aragon.

De Vries, the 2014 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series champion, took his DAMS machine to the front with a great late lap, with his 1m41.609s leading a group of four covered by less than one tenth of a second.

Race one pole sitter Matthieu Vaxiviere will start race two from the front row of the grid, with the Lotus driver just 0.024s away from the pole time, while Fortec Motorsports duo Oliver Rowland, yesterday’s race winner, and Jazeman Jaafar will share row two, with just 0.001s separating the two of them.

Pietro Fantin will start fifth for International Draco Racing, 0.238s back from de Vries, but the Brazilian is ahead of another group of five drivers covered by less than a tenth of a second, with Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Tom Dillmann sixth, Dean Stoneman of DAMS seventh, Nicholas Latifi of Arden Motorsport eighth and Tio Ellinas of Strakka Racing.

Alfonso Celis Jr will start tenth for AVF after being the quickest driver in the first half of the session, with his time of 1m41.963s beating team-mate Beitske Visser by 0.122s.

De Vries will be looking to convert his pole position into a maiden win, but Vaxiviere will also be eager to put his disappointing race one behind him to take his first series victory.

Motorland Aragon Race 2 Qualifying Times

[table id=189 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.