BRDC Formula 4

Mealin takes debut BRDC F4 victory

1 Mins read

Chris Mealin made the most of the reverse grid to take a lights-to-flag victory in the second BRDC F4 race of the weekend at Oulton Park.

The British driver put in a calm and collective performance throughout the 13 lap-encounter to cross the line 0.592 seconds ahead of Ciaran Haggerty at the finish.

It was in fact Sisi Ngebulana who should have led the pack into New Hall for the first time, however the pole-man spun his HHC Motorsport car on the warm-up lap, leaving the South African to line-up an embarrassing last on the grid. Instead it was Mealin who got the jump from Haggerty, whilst race one winner Will Palmer made a storming start from eighth to fourth on the opening lap.

Just two seconds covered the top five during the opening laps, with Lanan Racing’s Jack Bartholomew setting fastest laps behind the leading duo of Mealin and Haggerty. Elsewhere, race one runner-up Harri Newey was making steady progress from seventh on the grid, displacing Rodrigo Fonseca for sixth.

With the field starting to spread out, Bartholomew and Palmer bucked the trend with a move on Tom Jackson for third and fourth, the CDR-driver being mugged and dropped to fifth as a result. Also on the move again was Newey, this time slipping past Sebastian Lanzetti on entry to New Hall with just two laps left to run.

No-one could get close to Mealin out front however, who took his first win the series after a stunning drive in Cheshire. Haggerty took second for his first podium finish, whilst Palmer beat Bartholomew to third. Jackson rounded out the top five, with Newey, Lanzetti, Fonseca, Jack Lang, and Akhil Rabindra completing the top ten.

Oulton Park Race 2 Result

[table id=75 /]

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.