Sykes Back on Form with Assen Pole Position

Tom Sykes has taken his first pole position of the 2015 World Superbike season after edging out his teammate Jonathan Rea in Superpole at Assen. The 2013 champion has endured a disappointing season so far as Rea has dominated the championship but the pendulum swung Sykes’ way for the first time on Saturday in the Netherlands.

Rea, a five time winner at Assen during his Honda days, made a sensational start to SP2 with a 1:35.913, quicker than anything he had done all weekend, but despite an improvement on his second lap, the championship leader was usurped by Leon Haslam who clocked a 1:35.713 on his Aprilia.

The change to qualifying tyres triggered a thrilling finale with home favourite Michael van der Mark briefly snatching provisional pole for PATA Honda, only to hand it back to Haslam, but the Kawasakis soon raised the bar with both breaking into the 1:34s. Rea was the first to cross the line with a 1:34.920 but Sykes would secure his 25th career pole, and arguably the most significant to date, with a 1:34.789 moments later.

Haslam rounds out the front row with practice pacesetter Chaz Davies forced to settle for fourth, just ahead of van der Mark, while Alex Lowes produced a standout performance to qualify sixth on a Suzuki still adjusting to the Magneti Marelli electronics.

Xavi Fores starts seventh ahead of compatriot Jordi Torres while Sylvain Guintoli completes the third row after a stunning effort on the third lap with his qualifying tyre in SP1 which saved him from elimination.



166. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team1:34.789SP2
265. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team1:34.920SP2
391. Leon HaslamApriliaAprilia Racing Team – Red Devils1:35.336SP2
47. Chaz Racing – Ducati SBK Team1:35.425SP2
560. Michael van der MarkHondaPATA Honda World Superbike1:35.619SP2
622. Alex LowesSuzukiVoltcom Crescent Suzuki1:35.722SP2
7112. Xavi Racing – Ducati SBK Team1:35.786SP2
881. Jordi TorresApriliaAprilia Racing Team – Red Devils1:35.855SP2
91. Sylvain GuintoliHondaPATA Honda World Superbike1:36.118SP2
1036. Leandro MercadoDucatiBarni Racing Team1:36.394SP2
112. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse1:36.402SP2
1218. Nicolas TerolDucatiAlthea Racing1:36.555SP2
1315. Matteo BaioccoDucatiAlthea Racing1:36.392SP1
1486. Ayrton BadoviniBMWBMW Motorrad Italia SBK1:36.711SP1
1540. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam Go Eleven1:36.847SP1
1644. David SalomKawasakiTeam Pedercini1:37.033SP1
1759. Niccolo CanepaEBRTeam Hero EBR1:37.273SP1
1814. Randy de PunietSuzukiVoltcom Crescent Suzuki1:37.654SP1
1923. Christophe PonssonKawasakiGrillini SBK Team1:38.326SP1
2051. Santiago BarraganKawasakiGrillini SBK Team1:38.977SP1
2190. Javier AlvizKawasakiTeam Pedercini1:40.334FP3
2272. Larry PegramEBRTeam Hero EBR1:40.699FP3
2375. Gabor RizmayerBMWBMW Team Toth1:41.543FP1
2410. Imre TothBMWBMW Team Toth1:41.958FP3