Ticktum Fastest at Thruxton Test

MSA Formula was in Thruxton for the first of the years mid-season tests, and it was Dan Ticktum who set the fastest time of the day with a 1:13.334.

Thruxton is a famously fast track with only 2 major braking areas. As a result this was a bigger test for the teams on the cars endurance. The teams wanted to test out their equipment, with the drivers wanting to get experience before the race meeting on the 9th – 10th May.

Following Lando Norris‘ exclusion from the race 3 results, this means that Dan Ticktum leads the championship on 50 points. He continued his momentum after last weekend by making the most of his fresh tyres early in the day to complete his fastest time with an average speed of 115mph.

The closest times to him all day were also set in the first session. Sandy Mitchell was only 5 hundredths behind the leader, with third placed Ricky Collard 15 hundredths behind Ticktum.

Surprisingly, fourth placed Sennan Fielding set his time in the second session, which proved to be the slowest for many of the drivers. A few drivers including him and Colton Herta decided not to set times in the final session while other drivers used it as an opportunity to continue improving their performance.

As for the teams it was a good day for TSR Arden who finished the day second and third overall, while Carlin‘s top 2 finished in 5th and 6th. There is week break before the teams head to Donington Park for the second round of the championship.

Thruxton Test Day Times

127Daniel TicktumGBRFortec Motorsports1m13.334s
219Sandy MitchellGBRArden1m13.387s
311Ricky CollardGBRArden1m13.471s
428Sennan FieldingGBRJHR Developments1m13.624s
531Lando NorrisGBRCarlin1m13.803s
610Colton HertaUSACarlin1m13.860s
714Daniel BaybuttGBRJTR1m14.329s
865Enaam AhmedGBRArden1m14.586s
94Jack BarlowGBRMBM1m14.594s
1046Rafael MartinsBRZSWB Motorsport1m14.665s
1122Tarun ReddyINDDouble R Racing1m14.968s
1221Petru FlorescuROMCarlin1m15.135s
1396Jack ButelGBRSWB Motorsport1m15.217s
1415James PullGBRJTR1m15.328s
1559Josh SmithGBRFortec Motorsports1m15.685s
1651Ameya VaidyanathanINDJTR1m15.994s
1717Gustavo MyasavaBRZDouble R Racing1m16.041s
188Darius KarbaleyGBRFalcon Motorsport1m16.966s