Zarco Eases to Moto2 Pole in Argentina

Johann Zarco cruised to his first pole position of the 2015 Moto2 season in Argentina, dominating Saturday’s qualifying session from start to finish. The Frenchman rose above his championship rivals to tale pole by three tenths of a second, leaving his challengers to squabble over the remaining spots on the front row.

The writing appeared to be in the wall from a very early stage as Zarco took provisional pole on a 1:44.053 straight away and the only threat to the Ajo Motorsport Kalex came from Johann himself. Within ten minutes, Zarco was well into the 1:43s but on his very last lap of the afternoon, the 24 year old clocked a 1:42.809 to break the pole position record at MotoGP’s newest venue.

Thomas Luthi looked like the surprise contender to follow Zarco but with the chequered flag flying, Tito Rabat stole second on a 1:43.102, six hundredths quicker than the Interwetten rider. COTA winner Sam Lowes was typically aggressive, providing the Speed Up team with a nervous moment or two on his way to fourth, while championship leader Alex Rins was as cool as ever, taking fifth for Paginas Amarillas HP 40.

Jonas Folger rediscovered the form which took him to victory in Qatar, qualifying sixth, with Simone Corsi, Sandro Cortese and COTA polesitter Xavier Simeon making up the third row. Mika Kallio was tenth fastest for Italtrans but his teammate Franco Morbidelli had a disastrous session, culminating in a crash after tagging the rear of Luis Salom’s Kalex.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:42.809
21. Esteve RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:43.102
312. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:43.165
422. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:43.253
540. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:43.364
694. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:43.384
73. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:43.449
811. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:43.460
919. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:43.640
1036. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:43.699
114. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:43.755
1223. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:43.778
137. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:43.797
1460. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:43.847
1530. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:43.857
1655. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:43.874
1777. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:43.984
1839. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:44.051
1995. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:44.070
2073. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:44.178
2188. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 31:44.212
2221. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:44.292
2396. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:44.349
2470. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:44.823
2525. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:44.857
2644. Steven OdendaalKalexAGR Team1:44.904
2710. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:45.158
2866. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing Team1:45.498
292. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:45.882
3051. Zaqhwan ZaidiSuterJPM Malaysia1:45.930