2015 Nurburgring 24 Hours: Hour 12 Update

2015 ADAC Nurburgring 24 Hours (Credit: Tom Loomes Photography)

Shortly after the nine hour mark at 1am UK in the 2015 Nurburgring 24 Hours another of the top GT3 teams crashed out of the race.

Having established themselves in the lead the #1 Audi Sport Team Phoenix team were taken out of the race when Christian Mamerow crashed out of the lead at Pflanzgarten. Initially comminating that he was unhurt Mamerow was taken to hospital as a precaution, testament to the severity of the accident.

With the crash the lead passed to the #18 team from the Audi Sport team WRT team and it was that team that led the race at the half way point of the race, though the #25 BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS BMW and Falken Motorsports Porsche also led the race in the laps leading up to the twelve hour mark, the Porsche squad’s single lap out front the first time they have headed the race thus far. They run second after 12 hours, the Marc VDS BMW third ahead of the sister car, the Belgian squad upholding BMWs honour after the retirement of both Team Schubert entries.

The retirement list among the GT3 continued to grow, the #22 ROWE Racing Mercedes retiring after reports of a small brake fire in the pits while Stefan Mucke was another driver to crash in the darkness around the Nordschleife, bringing the #7 Aston Martin Racing team’s race to an end.

There were also problems for the #9 SCG 003c which was pulled into the garage for the Scuderia Glickenhaus team to deal with several problems, including a power steering issue. The team, the lone runner in the SP-X class had been the best non GT3 runner but with their problems the mantle passed to the SP7 leader, the #61 Black Falcon Porsche.

As the #9 slipped down the order it brought the SP-Pro class leader into the top 20, the #53 Team Toyota Gazoo Racing Lexus LFA Code X starting the second half of the race in 20th with the SP3T class leader, the Subaru Tecnica International WRX STI only one place further back.

2015 ADAC Nurburging 24 Hours overall standings after 12 hours:

1 – #28 Audi Sport Team WRT
2 – #44 Falken Motorsport
3 – #25 BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS
4 – #26 BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS
5 – #5 Black Falcon

Selected Class leaders

SP-Pro – #53 Toyota Team Gazoo Racing
SP10 – #86 Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport
SP8 – #50 Aston Martin Test Centre
SP7 – #61 Black Falcon Team TMD Friction
SP4T – #110 AC 1927 Mayen e.V. im ADAC
SP3 – #146 Kissling Motorsport
SP3T – #114 Subaru Tecnica International