Folger Escapes to Take Jerez Moto2 Victory

1 Mins read

Jonas Folger upset pre-race favourite Tito Rabat to take a sensational victory in the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez. Having dominated qualifying, Rabat was expected to open his winning account for 2015 but he would be defeated by the German before a final corner incident saw Rabat beaten to second by Johann Zarco.

All looked to be going to plan for Rabat in the early laps as the Spaniard converted pole position into the lead at turn one but the race quickly fell apart for Sam Lowes as a problematic Dunlop tyre left him scrambling for grip. The Briton plummeted down the order at a relentless rate with his issues preventing him from even scoring a point as his Speed Up trailed home in 20th.

Zarco didn’t have things his own way either in the first half of the race, dropping to eleventh at one point, but once he managed to work his way into some clear tarmac, the Frenchman was clearly the fastest rider on the circuit. A succession of blistering laps saw him close in on the four-man leading group which comprised of Rabat, Folger, Alex Rins and Thomas Luthi but progress would be much tougher from there.

By the time Zarco was on terms with the frontrunners, Folger had wrestled control from Rabat thanks to a mistake at turn five and as the world champion ran into tyre troubles, Jonas eased away to a second victory of 2015. Tito’s problems intensified on the final couple of laps, allowing Rins to close in and approaching the final corner, the rookie had lined himself up for a dive up the inside. Unfortunately for Alex, Rabat had left his braking late enough to stay in front and Rins ploughed into his rear wheel, bringing the no.40 down and pushing the Marc VDS Kalex wide.

The beneficiary of it all was Zarco who ghosted through to second with Rabat a frustrated third while Rins eventually remounted his battered Kalex to finish eighteenth. Luthi finished fourth despite fading late on while Xavier Simeon beat Franco Morbidelli to fifth on his Gresini Kalex. Luis Salom gave the Pons team something to smile about with his first points of the season while Simone Corsi, Alex Marquez and Marcel Schrotter completed the top ten.



[table id=231 /]

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.