Giugliano Marks Return with Imola Pole Position

Davide Giugliano announced his return to World Superbikes in the grand manner by claiming pole position on home soil at Imola. The Ducati rider edged out the two factory Kawasakis of Tom Sykes and Jonathan Rea to claim his fourth career pole, his last coming on his most recent WSBK appearance in Qatar last year.

Giugliano had risen to the top of the practice timesheets on Saturday morning and backed that up with a sensational lap on qualifying rubber in SP2. Despite a slight mistake at the Variante Bassa, Davide clocked a 1:46.382 to pip Sykes by 0.084s and although he was delighted with the outcome, the WSBK returnee admits he may struggle to repeat today’s heroics over a race distance.

“I knew that I could put in a fast lap – that’s one of my strengths. We can only be pleased with this result and I think it’s a nice reward not only for myself but also for the team, the sponsors and all my fans. Tomorrow will be more difficult; I believe that we’re in a good place as far as set-up is concerned, and we’ve already chosen the tyres, but I’m not physically fit and think I’ll struggle a bit in the races. Anyway, that said, never say never, maybe adrenalin will help me! For now I’ll celebrate the Superpole with my team, and tomorrow we’ll have to see…”

Sykes outqualified his teammate for the second race running to take P2 on the grid with Rea rounding out the front row. Chaz Davies starts fourth on the second Ducati with the Aprilias of Leon Haslam and Jordi Torres completing the second row. Leandro Mercado and Ayrton Badovini impressed to finish seventh and eighth in SP2 while Michael van der Mark secured ninth spot on the sole PATA Honda to reach the second session.



134. Davide Racing – Ducati SBK Team1:46.382SP2
266. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team1:46.466SP2
365. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team1:46.503SP2
47. Chaz Racing – Ducati SBK Team1:46.672SP2
591. Leon HaslamApriliaAprilia Racing Team – Red Devils1:46.854SP2
681. Jordi TorresApriliaAprilia Racing Team – Red Devils1:47.394SP2
736. Leandro MercadoDucatiBarni Racing Team1:47.628SP2
886. Ayrton BadoviniBMWBMW Motorrad Italia SBK1:48.147SP2
960. Michael van der MarkHondaPATA Honda World Superbike Team1:48.225SP2
1044. David SalomKawasakiTeam Pedercini1:48.524SP2
1122. Alex LowesSuzukiVoltcom Crescent Suzuki1:48.730SP2
122. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto CorseNo TimeSP2
1384. Michel FabrizioDucatiAlthea Racing1:48.148SP1
1415. Matteo BaioccoDucatiAlthea Racing1:48.174SP1
151. Sylvain GuintoliHondaPATA Honda World Superbike Team1:48.567SP1
1640. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam Go Eleven1:49.685SP1
1714. Randy de PunietSuzukiVoltcom Crescent Suzuki1:50.378SP1
1851. Santiago BarraganKawasakiGrillini SBK Team1:51.398SP1
1923. Christophe PonssonKawasakiTeam Pedercini1:51.786SP1
2059. Niccolo CanepaKawasakiGrillini SBK TeamNo TimeSP1
2110. Imre TothBMWBMW Team Toth1:52.580FP2
2275. Gabor RizmayerBMWBMW Team Toth1:53.813FP2