Lowes Recovers from Crash to Take Mugello Pole

by Louis Suddaby

Sam Lowes bounced back from a crash early in the qualifying session to claim pole position for the Italian Grand Prix at Mugello. The Briton was in danger of sliding down the leaderboard after tumbling fifteen minutes in but after recovering his bike to the pits, Lowes returned to the track to hand Speed Up pole position on home soil.

After topping the practice times, Tito Rabat began the session as favourite for pole and the reigning champion hit the front after twelve minutes, pulling out a tenth of a second over Thomas Luthi. At this point, Lowes held the third spot on the front row of the grid but a fall at Materassi threatened to undo all of his hard work, especially when the Speed Up wouldn’t restart. Fortunately for Sam, he was able to recover his machine to a nearby service road and find his way back to the pitlane but in his absence, the picture up front had been altered.

The biggest change of all came midway through the session as the Swiss teammates at Interwetten worked in tandem. Thomas Luthi shaved a tenth off his best time to stay second but his compatriot Dominique Aegerter was buried in the slipstream of the no.12 Kalex and took full advantage, jumping up to provisional pole position.

With ten minutes to go, Lowes finally ventured back out of the pits and within two laps, the Lincolnshire man had stamped his authority on the session with a 1:51.514, three tenths quicker than Aegerter and enough for his second pole position in 2015.

Aegerter held onto second while the relentless Rabat regained third from Luthi on his last lap of the afternoon. Luis Salom finished a surprising fifth ahead of championship leader Johann Zarco and leading Italian Simone Corsi. Xavier Simeon will start eighth ahead of an off-form Alex Rins while Axel Pons lines up tenth despite a crash in qualifying.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
122. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:51.514
277. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:51.856
31. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:51.874
412. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:51.879
539. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:52.120
65. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:52.140
73. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:52.144
819. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:52.155
940. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:52.240
1049. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:52.327
1111. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:52.331
1260. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:52.472
1394. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:52.480
1455. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:52.510
1573. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:52.536
167. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:52.709
1730. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:52.807
1854. Mattia PasiniKalexGresini Racing1:52.845
1923. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:52.880
204. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:52.927
2121. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:53.024
2288. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 31:53.279
2336. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:53.333
2425. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:53.552
2570. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:53.867
2696. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:53.975
2766. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing Team1:54.662
2851. Zaqhwan ZaidiSuterJPM Malaysia1:54.807
292. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:54.844
3095. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:54.989
3110. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:55.069

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More