Mitchell Cruises to Race 3 Victory at Thruxton

by Connor Jackson

Another dominant drive Sandy Mitchell saw him take his second victory of the weekend after taking the lead early in the race and building a convincing lead over his competitors to prove he was the dominant driver in Thruxton in his TRS Arden car.

Mitchell started on pole, joined alongside by Lando Norris. At the start, Sennan Fielding made a quick get away to leap quickly up to second before taking the lead into the complex. Behind them, Ricky Collard was run wide by Norris as the Carlin driver held on to third place.

Mitchell took the lead as they came up to Goodwood, with Fielding also falling behind Norris at the chicane. Onto the second lap, Dan Baybutt retired after an incident further back, as the battle for second continued, allowing Mitchell to build his lead.

Norris kept ahead of Fielding as the others drivers caught up, meaning Fielding was involved in a four way fight Collard, Matheus Leist and Petru Florescu which Collard eventually won going onto the fourth lap.

With 16 minutes left, Daniel Ticktum continued his poor weekend, ensuring the championship leader left Thruxton with no points. While Mitchell set the fastest lap, meaning he now had a one second lead over Norris.

Behind the leading two, Collard and Leist had started to break away and with 11 minutes left, Collard moved into second around the outside of Norris, setting the fastest lap in the process. While Fielding stopped his slow rot of positions by retaking fifth from Florescu.

As the battle for second continued, Mitchell pulled out a 2.8 second gap, as second to fouth was split by half a second across the line. With 5 minutes left, Norris launched up the inside of Goodwood corner to retake second, but lost out in the slip stream and was retaken by Collard and then Leist at Church.

Norris would reclaim his third place with only a few minutes left, as James Pull crashed with Fielding cementing a poor race for the JTR Team, while Fielding also lost out to Tarun Reddy and Rafael Martins as a result demoting him further to eighth.

Mitchell won the race ahead of Collard by almost 5 seconds, with Norris leading home; Leist, Florescu and Reddy. When asked about his performance, Mitchell said to ITV that, “This weekend, everything’s finally clicked into place.”

The result also means Collard leads Ticktum in the championship by 10 points.

Thruxton Race 3 Result

119Sandy MitchellGBRArden20m00.655s
211Ricky CollardGBRArden+4.484s
331Lando NorrisGBRCarlin+5.120s
418Matheus LeistBRZDouble R Racing+5.858s
521Petru FlorescuROMCarlin+11.768s
622Tarun ReddyINDDouble R Racing+13.609s
746Rafael MartinsBRZSWB Motorsport+14.353s
83Sennan FieldingGBRJHR Developments+14.866s
910Colton HertaUSACarlin+19.654s
1065Enaam AhmedGBRArden+20.223s
114Jack BarlowGBRMBM+20.625s
1225Louise RichardsonGBRRichardson Racing+23.855s
1359Josh SmithGBRFortec Motorsports+24.599s
148Darius KarbaleyGBRFalcon Motorsport+34.591s
1551Ameya VaidyanathanINDJTR+35.889s
1623Ollie PidgleyGBRRichardson Racing+36.248s
DNF15James PullGBRJTR14 Laps
DNF96Jack ButelGBRSWB Motorsport5 Laps
DNF27Daniel TicktumGBRFortec Motorsports2 Laps
DNF14Daniel BaybuttGBRJTR1 Lap

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More