Norris Wins Second Race with Last Lap Lunge

by Connor Jackson

Lando Norris fought through the order to win the second race of the MSA Formula Weekend in Thruxton. He started tenth, but an exciting saw no driver dominate allowing the 15 year old from Glastonbury to take the lead on the final lap.

Dan Ticktum started on pole after fighting through from his poor qualifying on Saturday. Ticktum made a good start but was swamped by the driver in second; Rafael Martins. Meanwhile, Sandy Mitchell, who had dominated race one fell to ninth from seventh. It was a clean start with none of the drivers wanting to repeat the safety car from yesterday.

By the second lap, Ticktum overtook Martins to take the lead as Sennan Fielding continued his progress, getting up to tenth from sixteenth on the grid. However; the race started to get interesting as the slipstreaming allowed drivers to make a move irrespective of if they had the direct speed. While an incident between Norris, Mitchell and Ricky Collard seeing them lose positions allowing Fielding up to seventh.

With 15 minutes remaining, Ticktum lead from Martins, Colton Herta, Matheus Leist and Dan Baybutt. However; a lunge from Martins punctured Ticktum’s tyre. The leader was forced to pit and retired with further engine issues.

After losing ground Leist retook positions from Herta and Baybutt resulting in a Brazilian one-two and allowing Martins to extend his lead. With 10 minutes left, the race had no intention of slowing down as Baybutt took Leist, but it wasn’t entirely successful and found himself pushed onto the grass and fell to the back of the grid, pitting for repairs.

The incident had allowed Norris to leap up to fourth as Mitchell extended his lead further, setting the fastest lap. He had a small gap to Leist then Norris, Mitchell and Collard, with Herta falling off the pace.

Norris caught the leading Brazilians and quickly disposed of Leist and jostled for the lead with Martins before being pushed back. The ongoing fight ensured it was five car fight for the lead with Mitchell and then Collard catching up.

Leist had started to struggle with 3 minutes left and lost places to Mitchell and then Collard on the final lap. But on the last lap Norris took the lead once again as Martins lost momentum and another position to Mitchell.

Over the line, second to fifth was separated by 0.4 seconds with Norris taking the win in his Carlin car from Mitchell, Martins, Collard and Leist.

Thruxton Race 2 Result

131Lando NorrisGBRCarlin20m07.729s
219Sandy MitchellGBRArden+1.027s
346Rafael MartinsBRZSWB Motorsport+1.257s
411Ricky CollardGBRArden+1.300s
518Matheus LeistBRZDouble R Racing+1.428s
610Colton HertaUSACarlin+2.377s
765Enaam AhmedGBRArden+5.399s
822Tarun ReddyINDDouble R Racing+5.645s
98Darius KarbaleyGBRFalcon Motorsport+5.823s
103Sennan FieldingGBRJHR Developments+8.660s
1115James PullGBRJTR+9.344s
1225Louise RichardsonGBRRichardson Racing+9.835s
1396Jack ButelGBRSWB Motorsport+10.263s
1421Petru FlorescuROMCarlin+12.657s
154Jack BarlowGBRMBM+12.863s
1659Josh SmithGBRFortec Motorsports+13.070s
1751Ameya VaidyanathanINDJTR+13.706s
1823Ollie PidgleyGBRRichardson Racing+15.214s
1914Daniel BaybuttGBRJTR+1 Lap
DNF27Daniel TicktumGBRFortec Motorsports4 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More