O’Brien Wins in Wet Conditions at Rockingham

Michael O’Brien, who started on pole managed to win his first race of the season after many of his rivals spun, because of tricky conditions. His lead was rarely challenged as Harrison Newey drove an excellent race from the back of the grid.

After two green flag laps the 20 minute race finally got under way with O’Brien leading at the end of the first lap. However; there were incidents behind, as the wet track caused Jack Bartholomew and Paul Seiljes to drop positions. O’Brien built his lead, while Jack Lang spun off at the Deene hairpin at the start of the second lap. This concluded a poor race in which he’d also spun in the warm-up.

As a result the Safety Car was deployed and the field tried to get use to the wet track conditions. O’Brien lead from Jordan Albert, Chris Mealin, Ciaren Haggerty and Tom Jackson. As the safety car pulled in, the cars continued with 12 minutes to go.

Mistakes for Mealin, Bartholomew and Albert saw them drop positions as Akhil Rabindra and Harrison Newey made the most of it, Newey was now up sixth after starting last. O’Brein extended his lead to two seconds over the chasing Haggerty, but the curse of the second position saw him run off at Chapman and then pit and retire because of a puncture. There were also problems for Rabindra who temporarily dropped to eighth before re-passing Rodrigo Fonseca and Mealin.

There was progress from Will Palmer who worked his way up to ninth as the HHC Motorsport team tried to salvage a good result. However; the fighting behind had meant the top four of O’Brien, Jackson, Albert and Newey had broken away at the front, with Newey now setting the fastest lap. While O’Brien’s lead extended to 3.1 seconds.

A strong finish for Bartholomew was eradicated after his second spin dropped him down the order with two minutes left to race. With the end in sight, Jackson started to gain on O’Brien, cutting the gap to 1.5 seconds also setting the fastest lap, a 1:38.937.

It proved too little, too late however, with O’Brien taking victory from Jackson and Albert, who held off Newey in the final stages to take the final podium place. While, Palmer, Mealin, Rabindra and Fonseca rounded out the top eight.

Rockingham Race 2 Result

194Michael O'BrienGBRMark Godwin Racing12 Laps
212Tom JacksonGBRChris Dittmann Racing+0.658s
323Jordan AlbertGBRSWR+4.750s
433Harrison NeweyGBRHHC Motorsport+5.602s
53Will PalmerGBRHHC Motorsport+17.810s
610Chris MealinHKGLanan Racing+26.261s
72Akhil RabindraINDDouglas Motorsport+30.279s
89Rodrigo FonsecaMEXLanan Racing+30.538s
98Jack BartholomewGBRLanan Racing+32.893s
1077Hernan FallasARGMark Godwin Racing+37.845s
1124Fernando UrrutiaMEXDouglas Motorsport+38.062s
1218Zubair HoqueGBRSWR+47.994s
1311Paul SieljesNEDChris Dittmann Racing+51.324s
147Al Al ZubairOMAHillspeed+55.784s
1566Sebastian LanzettiRSAHillspeed+1 Lap
1644James RevelerGBR23 Racing+1 Lap
1737Sisa NgebulanaRSAHHC Motorsport+1 Lap
1851Ameya VaidyanathanINDHillspeed+1 Lap
RET79Ciaran HaggertyGBREcurie Ecosse/GBR6 Laps
RET14Jack LangGBRMark Godwin Racing1 Lap