Rabat Roars to Jerez Moto2 Pole Position

Tito Rabat looked much more like the rider that clinched the 2014 Moto2 world title in Jerez on Saturday, storming to a dominant pole position on home soil. The Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS rider was on top throughout the session with star rookie Alex Rins stepping up to challenge his compatriot in second.

Most of the headline lap times were set in the early stages with the soaring track temperatures having a detrimental effect on grip levels. Jonas Folger leapt to the top of the leaderboard after five minutes with a 1:43.478 but Rabat hit the front a couple of minutes later and the reigning champion wouldn’t be headed from that point on as he eased clear of the competition.

Showing signs of his metronomic best, Rabat was relentless as he continued to lower his own benchmark time and shortly before the halfway stage, Tito broke into the 1:42s to move half a second clear of Folger who was now stranded in the pits with electrical problems. Rins took advantage of the German’s misfortune to snatch second on a 1:43.179 but with the intense heat preventing any further improvements, Folger did at least hang on to a front row starting slot.

Championship leader Johann Zarco didn’t enjoy his afternoon in the sun with a crash at turn two severely disrupting his session and denying him an opportunity to set a lap time when conditions were at their best. As a result, he will line up on the third row with Thomas Luthi, Takaaki Nakagami and Sam Lowes on the second row while Sandro Cortese and Axel Pons will line up just ahead of the Frenchman in ninth.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
11. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:42.874
240. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:43.179
394. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:43.201
412. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:43.259
530. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:43.278
622. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:43.354
711. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:43.391
849. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:43.401
95. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:43.436
1060. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:43.483
1119. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:43.514
123. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:43.683
137. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:43.689
1423. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:43.713
1521. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:43.721
1677. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:43.730
1773. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:43.737
1836. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:43.843
194. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:43.899
2039. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:43.916
2155. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:44.060
2288. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 31:44.441
2357. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:44.459
2495. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:44.466
2525. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:44.624
2696. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:44.695
2710. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:45.299
2870. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:45.436
2966. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing Team1:45.663
302. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:45.879
3151. Zaqhwan ZaidiSuterJPM Malaysia1:46.282