Rins Snatches Le Mans Moto2 Pole from Lowes

by Louis Suddaby

Alex Rins’ sensational rookie season in the Moto2 class continued on Saturday at Le Mans, the Spaniard snatching pole position from under the nose of Sam Lowes. The top two finished on identical times after an enthralling qualifying session but Rins’ second best lap was quicker than Lowes’, handing him top spot on the grid for tomorrow.

The story during free practice looked to be the return to form of Tito Rabat who was back to his relentless best on Friday and early in qualifying, the reigning champion was untouchable. Rabat moved into provisional pole seven minutes in with a 1:37.823 and for the next twenty, Tito lowered his own benchmark time on a regular basis, eventually reaching a 1:37.371.

With a quarter of an hour remaining, home favourite Johann Zarco stepped up to challenge the world champion with a 1:37.330 but Lowes found even more time on his next effort, setting the fastest ever Moto2 lap of the Bugatti circuit.

In the closing minutes, all eyes were on Rins with the Paginas Amarillas rider regularly setting pole position sector times only to hit traffic in the final few corners. One minute from the chequered flag, Alex finally found enough clear space to set a 1:37.114, identical to Lowes’ best effort but with his next best lap better than the Speed Up’s, Rins was able to celebrate a maiden Moto2 pole.

Zarco took the final spot on the front row with Tito Rabat forced to settle for the second row in fourth, where he will be joined by Takaaki Nakagami and Thomas Luthi. Luis Salom heads the third row ahead of Xavier Simeon and Julian Simon while Randy Krummenacher completes the top ten.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
140. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:37.114
222. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:37.114
35. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:37.222
41. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:37.329
530. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:37.415
612. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:37.442
739. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:37.641
819. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:37.645
960. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:37.724
104. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:37.764
1136. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:37.790
1221. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:37.900
1355. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:37.937
1423. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:37.941
1594. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:37.968
1649. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:37.969
1795. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:38.065
1811. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:38.152
1977. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:38.199
203. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:38.290
2173. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:38.511
227. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:38.512
2396. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:38.721
2425. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:38.748
2588. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 31:38.787
2670. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:38.817
2710. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:39.733
2866. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing Team1:40.036
292. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:40.081
3051. Zaqhwan ZaidiSuterJPM Malaysia1:40.546
3120. Louis BulleTransfiormersPromoto Sport1:41.523

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More