Vaxiviere quickest from Ellinas in Spa tests

Lotus driver Matthieu Vaxiviere ended the Formula Renault 3.5 Series collective test day at Spa-Francorchamps with the quickest time, finishing ahead of Tio Ellinas of Strakka Racing.

Ellinas was quickest in the first session, setting a best time of 2m00.307s, and although he improved his time to 1m59.830s in the second session, he was beaten to the top spot by Vaxiviere’s 1m59.620s, with no other driver able to get beneath the 2m00s barrier in either session.

The first session saw Ellinas lead International Draco Racing’s Pietro Fantin and Vaxiviere, with Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Sean Gelael an impressive fourth fastest.

Olivier Rowland was fifth for Fortec Motorsports ahead of DAMS duo Nyck de Vries and Dean Stoneman, while the second Lotus of Meindert van Buuren was eighth. Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Tom Dillmann and Strakka Racing’s Gustav Malja completed the top ten.

The second session was affected by two red flag periods when first Roy Nissany of Tech 1 Racing and then Fantin stopped on track. Vaxiviere and Ellinas led the way ahead of Rowland, with Nicholas Latifi fourth fastest for Arden Motorsport.

Beitske Visser was fifth for AVF ahead of Van Buuren, Stoneman, Dillmann, Monaco race winner Jazeman Jaafar of Fortec Motorsports, and Malja.

Spa-Francorchamps Free Practice Times (Combined)

19Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus2m00.590s1m59.620s
211Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing2m00.307s1m59.830s
34Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports2m00.758s2m00.085s
45Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport2m02.315s2m00.178s
516Beitske VisserNEDAVF2m01.692s2m00.439s
610Meindert van BuurenNEDLotus2m00.979s2m00.533s
719Pietro FantinBRZInternational Draco Racing2m00.540s2m02.296s
82Dean StonemanGBRDAMS2m00.879s2m00.553s
926Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m01.123s2m00.570s
103Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports2m04.115s2m00.673s
111Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS2m00.772s2m00.894s
1212Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing2m01.228s2m00.784s
1318Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing2m01.235s2m01.989s
1440Roberto MerhiESPPons Racing2m01.292s2m02.411s
1525Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m00.701s2m01.293s
166Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport2m02.087s2m01.353s
1715Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF2m01.599s2m01.857s
1820Bruno BonifacioBRZInternational Draco Racing2m02.002s2m01.910s
1939Philo Paz Patric ArmandINOPons Racing2m03.423s2m02.048s
2017Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing2m02.244s2m02.817s