Double success for Shane Byrne at Snetterton

Shane Byrne has made it two wins out of two at Snetterton in round four of the MCE British Superbike Championship, after dominating race two of the day.

The reigning champion led from start-to-finish once again, just like he did in race one, to extend his championship lead over Josh Brookes.

Brookes finished the race in second position after fighting back through the field following an apparent mechanical problem with his Milwaukee Yamaha.

The final step of the podium belonged to Jason O’Halloran after a close battle with Michael Laverty in the closing stages of the race. The other Tyco BMW of Tommy Bridewell was also closing in but he simply ran out of laps and had to settle for fifth position.

Stuart Easton got the better of the former championship leader, James Ellison, to finish in a strong sixth place. Filip Backlund, Christian Iddon and the returning Dan Linfoot rounded out the top 10 finishers, with Linfoot finishing off a positive weekend after recovering from his broken wrist.

The race saw a major incident early on when Taylor Mackenzie’s Team WD40 Kawasaki machine set on fire whilst he was still on-board the bike. Luckily for Mackenzie he soon noticed the rise in the heat and jumped off the bike before any serious harm was done.

Ryuichi Kiyonari’s poor start to the season also continued with the three-time BSB champion crashing out of the race whilst circulating around the circuit at the back of pack.

It was Byrne who once again made the best start however Brookes was able to stick with the race one winner throughout the opening couple of laps. Behind them, Broc Parkes had made a great start and found himself up into fourth place after the first couple of corners.

Bridewell made a terrible start from fourth on the grid and was down in 11th at the end of the first lap, although he did manage to survive any punishment from an apparent jump-start.

Lap three saw plenty of drama as Kiyonari crashed out of the race, right before Mackenzie’s bike went up in flames half-way through the lap. The young rookie luckily handled the situation really well and was soon jumping off the bike to safety.

On the re-start Parkes was the real loser as he was overtaken by Ellison and Chris Walker going through the first couple of corners.

Walker’s race came to an end one lap later, with the veteran losing the rear of his Kawasaki going through the first corner. Ahead of him Brookes looked to be struggling with his Yamaha machine and lost second place to O’Halloran.

Moments later Brookes lost out to Ellison, Parkes and then Laverty as he continued to struggle for power. It looked like the Australian was going to have to retire from the race at this point.

However a couple of laps later Brookes appeared to have found a solution to his problems and was challenging for a podium once again, against Laverty and O’Halloran.

Howie Mainwaring-Smart soon joined the action and got the better of Ellison going into the Bomb Hole, only to crash out of the race a couple of corners later.

Back at the front and Brookes made his way through past O’Halloran with an excellent move going through the Nelson and Bomb Hole corners.

O’Halloran was soon under pressure from Laverty but the Honda Racing rider continued to keep his cool and managed to hold the former MotoGP rider off and secure his second podium of the weekend.

Whilst all of this was going on Byrne had already crossed the line for his third victory of the season and his second double-win at Snetterton in as many years.

Byrne now has a 17-point lead in the championship over Brookes, with Ellison now a further 16 points behind after a disappointing weekend.

Snetterton Race Two Results

167Shane ByrnePBM Kawasaki29m31.765
225Josh BrookesMilwaukee Yamaha+4.676s
322Jason O'HalloranHonda Racing+5.404s
47Michael LavertyTyco BMW+5.471s
546Tommy BridewellTyco BMW+6.323s
65Stuart EastonPBM Kawasaki+9.146s
777James EllisonJG Speedfit Kawasaki+10.248s
899Filip Backlund Anvil Hire Tag Racing Kawasaki+10.627s
924Christian IddonBennetts Suzuki+10.868s
104Dan LinfootHonda Racing+10.930s
112Broc ParkesMilwaukee Yamaha+11.510s
1247Richard CooperAnvil Hire Tag Racing Kawasaki+11.683s
1312Luke MosseyQuattro Plant Kawasaki+20.331s
143Billy McConnellSmiths Racing BMW+21.326s
1560Peter HickmanRAF Reserves BMW+23.524s
1640Martin JessoppRiders Motorcycles BMW+24.811s
1783Danny BuchanBe Wiser Kawasaki+25.466s
1821Josh WatersBennetts Suzuki+28.873s
1914Lee JacksonBuildbase BMW+32.656s
2068Jed Metcher PR Racing Kawasaki+40.101s
2139Lee CostelloMorello Racing Kawasaki+48.962s
2228Victor CoxGearlink Kawasaki+49.440s
2364Aaron ZanottiA-Plant Yamaha+1:06.313
2445Rhalf Lo Turco SBK City Racing Kawasaki+1 Lap
2543Howie Mainwaring-SmartQuattro Plant Kawasaki+6 Laps
266James WestmorelandJG Speedfit Kawasaki+6 Laps
2720Jenny TinmouthHonda Racing+7 Laps
2831Vittorio IannuzzoTsingtao MV Agusta+10 Laps
298Shaun WinfieldAnvil Hire Tag Racing Kawasaki+10 Laps
309Chris WalkerBe Wiser Kawasaki+11 Laps
3111Taylor MackenzieTeam WD-40 Kawasaki+14 Laps
3253Joe BurnsJoe Burns Racing+14 Laps
3323Ryuichi KiyonariBuildbase BMW+14 Laps
3444Jack KennedyTeam WD-40 Kawasaki+15 Laps