Rabat Claims First Win of Moto2 Title Defence

by Louis Suddaby

Tito Rabat got his Moto2 championship defence up and running with his first victory of the season at Mugello. The Spaniard held off the late challenge of Johann Zarco to take his first win since Misano 2014 while Dominique Aegerter ended his podium drought at the expense of polesitter Sam Lowes.

For Speed Up, any hopes of a home victory were extinguished at the start of lap two when Lowes, who had fallen to fourth off the start line, tangled with the Forward Racing Kalex of Simone Corsi. The Briton sent a speculative move up the inside of the Italian but found the door slammed firmly shut when he arrived at San Donato. Corsi was eliminated on the spot and although Lowes was luckier, staying on his machine, he fell to eleventh in the process.

The early lead switched between the Swiss Interwetten teammates with Aegerter falling behind Thomas Luthi but the no.77 would regain control on lap three when the French GP winner slid off at Correntaio. Rabat held second ahead of Zarco and Jonas Folger but the world champion’s patience only lasted until the start of lap seven when he dived past Aegerter at San Donato.

Lowes had made steady progress to keep himself in touch with the leading group and when Folger crashed out at Casanova, the Lincolnshire man was up to fifth behind the Pons Kalex of Luis Salom. The Spaniard didn’t out up much resistance in the battle for fourth but Aegerter proved a much tougher nut to crack, forcing Lowes to settle for a frustrating fourth at the finish.

The day belonged to Rabat though who kept Zarco at bay in the latter stages to win by three tenths of a second with Aegerter completing the podium ahead of Lowes and Salom. Xavier Simeon finished sixth ahead of the second Speed Up of Julian Simon while Sandro Cortese and Axel Pons took eighth and ninth respectively, profiting from a late error by Lorenzo Baldassarri which dropped the sole remaining Forward rider to tenth.



11. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS39:40.545
25. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport+0.308
377. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten+5.280
422. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing+5.554
539. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+7.493
619. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+7.896
760. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+10.495
811. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+17.380
949. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+17.775
107. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing+18.836
1140. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+20.698
1273. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS+20.923
1330. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+22.433
144. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto2+22.762
1525. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+27.715
1623. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 3+31.461
1788. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 3+31.580
1854. Mattia PasiniKalexGresini Racing+32.778
1995. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+46.027
2096. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+46.557
2110. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG+46.929
2270. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten+46.962
232. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+1:15.001
2466. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing Team+1 Lap
NC55. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+2 Laps
NC94. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team+15 Laps
NC3. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing+15 Laps
NC21. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+17 Laps
NC36. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team+17 Laps
NC12. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten+19 Laps
NC51. Zaqhwan ZaidiSuterJPM Malaysia+21 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More