Sarrazin leads the way in opening Battersea practice

Stephane Sarrazin was quickest in opening practice for the first of the two races of the FIA Formula E finale at Battersea Park on Saturday morning.

The French driver left it late to set the best time of 1m26.450s around the bumpy London circuit, with the Venturi driver bettering the time set just moments earlier by British driver Sam Bird of Virgin Racing by 0.674s.

Championship contender Lucas di Grassi was third quickest for Audi Sport Abt, with Jean-Eric Vergne fourth for Andretti Autosport, ahead of the second Abt entry of Daniel Abt.

Championship leader Nelson Piquet Jr had been fastest for the majority of the session for NEXTEV Team China Racing, but fell to sixth as drivers used different boost levels at the end of the session.

Jerome d’Ambrosio was seventh quickest despite causing a red flag with eighteen minutes of the session remaining when the rear suspension of his Dragon Racing machine collapsed whilst running over the large bump at turn one.

Sebastian Buemi ended eighth for e.dams despite ending his session stopped on track after appearing to lock up under breaking and heading down the escape road at turn nine.

Karun Chandhok ended ninth for Mahindra Racing, while Nicolas Prost completed the top ten in the second of the e.dams entries.

British driver Oliver Turvey was the best of the debutant drivers in the session, ending eleventh quickest for NEXTEV TCR, just ahead of Fabio Leimer of Virgin Racing, while Simona de Silvestro was fourteenth for Andretti Autosport just behind Nick Heidfeld of Venturi.

The other two debutants Sakon Yamamoto and Alex Fontana were nineteenth and twentieth respectively for the Amlin Aguri and Trulli teams.

Battersea Park Race 1 Free Practice 1 Result

130Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi Formula E Team1m26.450s
22Sam BirdGBRVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m27.124s
311Lucas di GrassiBRZAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m29.006s
427Jean-Eric VergneFRAAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m29.163s
566Daniel AbtGERAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m29.368s
699Nelson Piquet JrBRZNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m29.514s
77Jerome D'AmbrosioBELDragon Racing Formula E Team1m29.588s
89Sebastien BuemiSWIe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m29.684s
95Karun ChandhokINDMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m30.148s
108Nicolas ProstFRAe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m30.225s
1188Oliver TurveyGBRNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m30.559s
123Fabio LeimerSWIVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m30.932s
1323Nick HeidfeldGERVenturi Formula E Team1m30.984s
1428Simona de SilvestroSWIAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m31.222s
156Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing Formula E Team1m31.272s
1677Salvador DuranMEXAmlin Aguri Formula E Team1m31.550s
1721Bruno SennaBRZMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m31.658s
1810Jarno TrulliITATrulli Formula E Team1m32.380s
1955Sakon YamamotoJAPAmlin Aguri Formula E Team1m33.558s
2018Alex FontanaSWITrulli Formula E Team1m33.912s